I would seriously like some help here

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gavincanning, Aug 9, 2011.

1. gavincanning macrumors newbie

Hey guys, this is my first time on this site. I've got a bit of a problem.

about 10 months ago my internet stopped working for a day in my apartment. Neither me, nor my room mate could connect.
    So I called our ISP and they were convinced the problem could be fixed by changing my network prefrences on my Macbook Pro, even though I told them persistently that it was affecting both of our computers and the xbox too. Well they walked me through a bunch of changes to my settings and they did not work at all. When I asked them to help me reverse the changes they said they didn't remember what they got me to change and that I'd have to call Apple. after a few hours the internet came back on and my computer could now not connect at all. I called Apple to help me reverse the changes but they want to charge me $60 an hour to talk to them. I got my uncle to make a temporary fix by changing my computer's IP adress to the same on as my room mate's with one number changed. Now I can connect to the internet at home. But NOT ANYWHERE ELSE!! this is a huge pain in the ass, as I am a film student and need to be connected while I'm at school. any ideas on how to revert my network settings to their original state? Please! help! Also, I apologize if this thread is the same as a million others, but I can't find anything that works so far.

Mac OS X version 10.5.8

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

It's probably a modem or a router issue. Reboot one or both.

3. gavincanning thread starter macrumors newbie

Read again, this happened 10 months ago. Both have been rebooted numerous times since then

4. Labaguette macrumors regular

made a quick vid, hope it helps!

ScreenCast

sorry my OS X is German -.-

best regards,

The Baguette

5. gavincanning, Aug 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 9, 2011