i3 or i5 iMac for adobe CS5?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hdsalinas, Nov 17, 2010.

1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

hdsalinas

Hi,

I have a 2.16 Ghz C2D late 2006 MBP that is starting to get old - dont get me wrong, it is still as -if not more- capable as any other newer windows laptop, but I am constantly running out of space and I need a bigger screen and faster CPU.

I want to get a 27" iMac but I am not sure which one to get. Keep in mind that I will be keeping what ever mac I get for a looooong time so I want to get something that will be capable for the long haul. (I have kept my current MBP for 4 years). My wife-approved budget says I can only get the base i3. I might be able to squeeze the $300 difference with extra good behavior, but if I dont an i3 imac must be.

I am a designer and I will be using my imac to work with adobe CS5 apps (I mostly use illustrator indesign, photoshop and dreamweaver), handling JPEGs and RAW files in Aperture and video editing in FCE and iMovie. I also have a a huge iphoto library (+50 GB worth of photos) which will have to handle as smooth as possible. I don't play games and most likely this mac will never see a version of windows running on it.

Now, for my needs would I see a significant difference if I go with either processor? Should I really pay the extra $$$ for the i5 processor?

At the company I work for, I use a 24" imac with a 2.4GHZ c2d and when I have all of the cs5 apps running it struggles a bit (perhaps it is because it only has 2GB of ram). The imac I am getting will be used in my office at home and wont be under such a heavy work load, but I plan on doing more and more freelance work on the side as possible.

BTW, I am keeping my MBP for those times that I need something portable.

I would love to hear your opinions.

2. malnar macrumors 6502a

malnar