i5 '10 MBP vs. Haswell performance

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pegamush, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Pegamush macrumors regular

hi everyone, i'm an engineering student and about to start my master thesis.
    my "old" 15" macbook pro is having logic board issues, and replacement at the apple store will cost me about 400€.
    a friend of mine it interested in it, and would buy it from me even prior repairing (he would take care of that).
    that said, for a "small" price difference i could get the new 13" rmbp with 8gb ram with 12% off the full price.

my current mac is an i5 2.4gh with dedicated nvidia 330m.
    the new one would have also an i5 2.4ghz with iris graphics.

will i experience any speed improvement moving to haswell? let's not consider the ssd for now, i'm interested in raw performance to do some fem simulation (for which i will need a windows partition).

should i rather fix my old 15" and add an ssd to it?
    i'm also concerned about screen estate, in my current macbook i have 1680x1050 resolution, how is windows dealing with the retina display?
    if i'm back to a "simulated" 1200x800 i'd rather kill myself!

any comment and suggestion is well accepted!

2. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

Steve121178

There's no doubt the Haswell chips are quicker, but it's not a giant leap from your current i5. You will notice other benefits with Haswell such as better power efficiency, but again it's not a major as benchmarks suggest. Regarding the retina display, you can scale to 1680x1050 if you want. Everything looks great at that resolution.

Your current Mac would receive one hell of a performance boost if you installed a SSD, it may even feel like a new machine if you've been using a slow 5400RPM mechanical disk. However, with a 12% discount on a new machine and taking into account the cost of repair & the cost of purchasing the SSD it might be best to just get the new machine and cover some of the cost by selling your current machine to your mate.