i5 hyperthreading?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mikethebigo, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #1
    I have a new base 13 MBP and I'm a little confused about whether it's actually running 4 threads or two. iStat Menus is displaying 4 processor threads, and the Apple MBP description on their site states that hyperthreading is now standard on all MBP's. However, while iStat shows 4 threads, it's really 2 identical threads x 2, and I have read that all Core i5's have hyperthreading disabled.

    Does anyone know whether it actually is hyperthreading or not?

    (and I know this means nothing in real world applications, especially for the minimally intensive stuff I do, I'm just curious).

    Thanks!

    PS Has anyone else noticed that MacBook Pros handle like well built tanks compared to the flimsy MacBook Airs? I sold my 2009 MBP for a new MBA and simply could not get into it. MBP has better build quality, better screen, better keyboard.... hell pretty much better everything except for weight.
     
  2. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #2
    The i5 has hyperthreading according to Intel ARK.
     
  3. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #3
    The Core i5 in the base MBP is a dual core processor with hyper threading, hence the 2x2 reference. I don't know where you heard that the i5s have HT disabled, but that's not true at all. If you open up the activity monitor and click on CPU at the bottom, you will see four separate boxes for CPU usage (representing the two cores with hyperthreading).
     
  4. stordoff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #4
    I'm pretty sure that it is using hyper-threading. Activity Monitor shows four graphs for CPU usage, each with a unique history.

    On a slightly more anecdotal note, HandBrake pushes CPU usage to ~400% (i.e. 4 cores). It runs slightly faster than on my Core 2 Quad system, which I wouldn't expect unless it was hyper-threaded.
     
  5. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #5
    Here's a screenshot of what I'm referring to - and I have the base 13" MBP as well...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mikethebigo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A5302b Safari/7534.48.3)

    Cool. I was reading from here that all i5s had HT disabled:

    http://www.brighthub.com/computing/hardware/articles/48391.aspx

    Guess this was incorrect info. And I'm probably only seeing 2 independent graphs instead of 4 because I'm not operating any programs currently that hyperthread. In any case, it's cool to know.
     
  7. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #7
    Desktop Quad-i5's have Hyper-Threading disabled. See: Current iMac's. Mobile chipsets have Hyper-threading.
     

Share This Page