I5 (i5-66 00 3.3ghz) good enough to produce music?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by vng01, Dec 12, 2015.

  1. vng01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #1
    Hello all how are you doing :) ?

    Im about to buy this (my First) imac 5k and just wanted to know if this configuration will be good enough to produce music (beats) With Cubase or Logic.

    3.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 processorTurbo Boost up to 3.9GHz

    8GB (two 4GB) memory, configurable up to 32GB

    2TB Fusion Drive

    AMD Radeon R9 M395 with 2GB video memoryRetina 5K 5120-by-2880 P3 display
     
  2. G.McGilli, Dec 12, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2015

    G.McGilli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    #2
    More than enough. For many years I was using 2011 2.5ghz i5 Mac Mini w/ 8gb RAM and a 2009 MBP 2,5ghz with 4gb RAM with no problems in Logic Pro.

    I've just recently upgraded to a 5k Mac. While it's overall snappier - it really is overkill. Even with 25 tracks minimum including MIDI instruments, loops, tonnes of plug ins and live vocals etc for House music you wouldn't break a sweat.

    With a track as mentioned above - my iMac is currently only using 2.2gb RAM for the entire project.

    So 8gb will be sufficient too. Fusion drive is irrelevant as your project will sit entirely in RAM so it's all good! And while some will say you are doomed by the 'slowness' of a FD (instead of SSD), we are talking maybe an extra 5-10 seconds loading your project (Compared again my Mac Mini with 5400rpm HDD). Enjoy!


    I'm playing back the project in Logic right now - and my CPU is at 6%. That is with Logic playing, 3 x 27" monitors, email, web browsing, Audacity etc etc.

    The only time you would get any benefit of an i7 (I have an i7) for music production is Bouncing your project to a compressed format like MP3. Otherwise it's of no advantage in my experience and I use the system every day for production.
     
  3. Schprecher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #3
    If you have money, take maximum on core i7.
     
  4. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #4
    So my imac configuration will be good enough? I want to use this Mashine for at least 5 years...
     
  5. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #5
    My Budget is limited at 2500 euros...
     
  6. G.McGilli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    #6
    Considering the NI requirements for that are:

    Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM (4 GB recommended)

    I think you'll be good to go for a long, long time.... Audio production/creation actually requires much less power than people think...
     
  7. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #7
    Well the requirements are the Minimum... I work With between 10 and 40 tracks per Projects including instruments like vst's / vstis and a Lot of effects/Filters and so on
     
  8. Schprecher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #8
    Every year this new Retina lost % of their price. Think about it. Maybe u need buy Mac PRO. 5.1 with Apple Cinema Display. and in Future u can upgrade VideoCard and Pusing Memory as u can push in this BOX.
    Think about. MAC PRO. is best ur way in Music. and Upgrade to the Future, with 2 CPUS, and 12 cores. named XEONS

    http://www.everymac.com/ultimate-mac-lookup/?search_keywords=MacPro5,1
     
  9. Schprecher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #9
    u can buy Apple Cinema Display 30, with Mac Pro 5.1, u can use on music, and u can play in any GAMES u want! VideoCard u can replace with u 2 hand, sure if this needed to replace.
     
  10. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #10
    If the configuration of an imac is good enough i would like to Rock this all in one Mashine With an amazing display:)
     
  11. Schprecher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
  12. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #12
    So you think the late 2013 Model would be better than the late 2015?
     
  13. techguy69 macrumors regular

    techguy69

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    #13
    Absolutely no reason that 2013 iMacs are better. Although the 2013 ones would be appropriate for you, if you want a decent speed bump and a 5K display, go for the 2015 ones.
     
  14. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #14
    So you think the Model With i5-66 00 3.3 ghz With the 2 TB Fusion Drive will be a good choice for Cubase or music production in general?
     
  15. techguy69 macrumors regular

    techguy69

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    #15
    Yep, would be more than perfect for your needs.
     
  16. vng01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #16
    Thank you very much
     

Share This Page