i5 or i7 for college student

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by antonisz, Jul 11, 2013.

1. antonisz macrumors newbie

Hello, MacRumors

I have been looking all over, reading every article I could find, and asking everyone I could think of.

I am majoring in Biomedical Sciences and Pre medicine. I am looking to buy a MBA and I am uncertain of what core to buy. I know that the i7 has better performance, but at the cost of battery life.

This is probably one of the most first world problems I've ever had, but I don't know what to choose.

My dad said go with the i7, since it's only 140 dollars. But I'm concerned about what others have said about battery. I will probably keep it plugged in 75% of the time anyways.

Most of what I do is keep tabs open while using office, but most of that matters about how much RAM you have.

I don't really know what programs I'll be using in my major.

I just don't want to buy the i5 and then regret not getting the i7, or buy i7 and be disappointed in battery.

Thanks!

2. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

3. Jefe's MacAir macrumors 6502

x2.

4. antonisz thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks guy! I get pretty neurotic when buying stuff lol!

5. InfinitiG macrumors 6502

these threads are funny

"for college student"

"Biomedical Sciences and Pre medicine"

OP you forgot to post your 4 year course plan, we need to know all your classes before we can recommend i5 or i7 :D

A 5 year old mac will easily fulfill your college needs and more

6. antonisz thread starter macrumors newbie

True!

http://undergrad-catalog.buffalo.edu/academicprograms/bms_degrees.shtml

7. mattferg macrumors 6502

Don't get the i7 unless you really have money to burn - the guy recommending you to read the anandtech review, if you read it it actually shows that the i7 in most situations has minimal performance gains.

For most people, the i7 is a waste of $140 you could be spending on other stuff as a student.

8. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater