i5 or i7 for Photography

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hammie, Apr 16, 2010.

1. Hammie macrumors 65816

Hammie

I'm not a professional, but I do enjoy photography as a hobby. I currently use Lightroom on an older (2 years old) Dell laptop. I'm considering moving to a MBP (probably a 17" but the jury is still out). My question is whether I will see enough performance increase to justify the i7 version over the i5 one.

Any suggestions or experience will be greatly appreciated.

2. johnnymg macrumors 65816

johnnymg

Only a VERY minimal dif. Spend your $'s on more RAM or an SSD.

JohnG

3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

4. Hammie thread starter macrumors 65816

Hammie

Thanks, I'll save myself some money and go with the i5.

No, I don't charge by the hour.

One additional thing. Is the AppleCare worth it? I thought these things were pretty dependable???

5. C64 macrumors 65816

C64

They are, usually, but it's still hardware and it can fail. It's a nice feeling to have Apple Care and three years of full service. It's "pointless" if nothing happens, but when your screen stops working after a year, or something else just breaks down, having Apple Care is pretty useful. If you buy through a top seller from eBay you might get it for like $150 instead of 250-300 if you buy directly from Apple.

6. tekmoe macrumors 68000

Save your money and stick with the i5 man. I'm using mine for photo editing and dj'ing. It's more than enough. Even my previous C2D really had no problem keeping up with my software I use. But this i5 is definitely faster.

7. baypharm macrumors 65816

baypharm

Go with the i5 and save some cash. I used Adobe and other programs on an "old" iMac 2.16 and it flew like an eagle.

8. CFYG macrumors newbie