i7 2.66 vs 2.8

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vodouman, Jan 8, 2011.

1. vodouman macrumors regular

Hi guys,

As of today I can afford to buy a new laptop for university. I can't decide between the i7 2.66 vs 2.8ghz. I have been hunting around on google and I did a few searches here on the forums - perhaps i'm searching for the wrong thing.

Is there any benefit for going for the 2.8. Benefits in any sense e.g. Long term as the laptop ages or perhaps substancial benefits whilst gaming or speedier compile times in Xcode or Visual studio... (I'm a games developer)

Cheers,

Luke

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

2.8GHz is ~5% faster in CPU intensive tasks. Not worth the 200$

3. vodouman thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the speedy response ;) I know you're a bit of a guru here on the forums so I trust you :p

Luke

4. panzer06 macrumors 68030

panzer06

Are any of the MBP Intel i7 CPUs quad core? If so, which Intel model # like i7 720, 740, 820, etc...? What's the model # for the i5 versions? Apple doesn't list this anywhere I can see.

Cheers,

5. Hisdem macrumors 6502a

Hisdem

None of them are Quad Cores. The i5 ones though are 540M or something IIRC.

6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

panzer06

That's what I thought. Not much more powerful for the average user than the C2D in the 13".

Thanks for that prompt response.

Cheers,

7. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

2.4GHz i5 = i5-520M
    2.53GHz i5 = i5-540M
    2.66GHz i7 = i7-620M
    2.8GHz i7 = i7-640M

All those are dual core :( Quad core would have QM or XM (XM for Extreme models) in the end. All are i7: 720QM, 740QM, 820QM, 840QM, 920XM, 940XM. Same applies to Sandy Bridge, quad cores have QM, QE or XM in the end. I suggest you to see these two Wikipedia tables, they tell you the most ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_i7_microprocessors#Mobile_processors
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_i5_microprocessors#Mobile_processors