i7 7700 desktop compare to what Mac

Discussion in 'Alternatives to Mac Hardware' started by waloshin, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    With an

    Intel i7 7700 with HAD 630
    16 Gigabytes of ram
    Asus R9 280X 4 GBs of ram video card
    250 GB Samsung 850 Evo as boot drive.

    I am assuming this would compare to a 27" iMac?
     
  2. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #2
    Depends what monitor you use. The 27" iMac uses a high quality monitor. If you are trying to compare costs, then you need to include the cost of the monitor. The monitor the 27" iMac uses is pretty expensive. And if I recall correctly the 850Evo drive is a SATA interface SSD. That would be quite a bit slower than the SSD in an iMac. The 7700 CPU is probably faster than what's in any Mac at the current time.
     
  3. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Well you only have 3 desktop selections from apple to choose from.
    Mac Pro - uses a xenon processor, but it hasn't been updated in 3+ years so I'd say that's not a good match
    Mac Mini - uses a dual core processor that hasn't been updated in 2+ years so I'd say that's not a good match
    iMac - 27" uses Skylake processors, so I'd say that is closes fit to the i7 7700

    Aside from the comparison, what are you looking to do?
     
  5. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    I am trying to build the best Hackintosh for my money and trying to figure out how it will compare.
     
  6. nottorp macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Romania
    #6
    Hmm judging from the hardware you're considering, you're not aware of the compatibility issues when building a hackintosh. I suggest you take a look at the recommended hardware list on tonymac. For example, they don't recommend AMD video cards *at all* in spite of all apple hardware coming with them. Pain to set up the ports and sleep/wake not working. Also, you should be very careful with the motherboard, there are some that work out of the box and some that will need tinkering with for ages.

    Personally I've been using a hackintosh as my desktop for years - built from the hassle free tonymac list. Apple has no desktops for the enthusiast market right now.
     
  7. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #7
    You are closest in Specs to the 27" iMac Retina 5k in terms of performance.

    I would also recommend taking a look a tonymac's current build guide for guidance, but happy to share a few notes:

    7700 (Kabylake) vs. 6700 (Skylake) : No production Mac is yet using Kabylake. Your best bet is to use a Skylake cpu and motherboard. The good news is that the performance between the current and last generation CPUs is very small and you will likely be able to save some money if you have not purchased yet.

    The R9 280X you have is significantly more powerful than the M390/395 in the iMac primarily because it is a desktop chip and the iMac uses discrete gfx made for laptops. As nottorp mentioned, generally nVidia is a better choice for building a Hackintosh, but, if you're trying to get the best performance from Open CL capable apps like Final Cut Pro X or other Apple pro apps, an AMD card will give you an edge. More good news for you, the R9 270X and 280X generally work out of the box. My Hackintosh runs a 270X and works flawlessly with Sierra, in El Cap and Yosemite there were some tweaks i had to do to get dual displays working on boot. If you do some searching you should find a lot of information about these cards too. A lot of people building hacks for Final Cut Pro X like these cards because they perform well and are relatively cheap. You can get a pair of 280Xs dirt cheap and out perform a 2013 MacPro in OpenCL and Final Cut.

    That said, if you are Adobe focused and don't use Apple's Apps, get a compatible nVidia card and don't look back.
     
  8. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #8
    No problem with a H270, I7 7700 Kaby Lake, and Asus R9 280X.

    Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 8.59.51 PM.png
     
  9. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #9
    I can give you a little information on a fairly current hackintosh build if you'd want.
    Mine is a :
    7700K running at 5.0GHz
    Asus Maximus IX Apex board
    GSkill TridentZ DDR4 16GB 3600MHz RAM
    nVidia (not 3rd party) 1080 Ti Founders Edition
    Samsung 960 EVO M.2 nVME 500GB Drive
    All EKWB Watercooled
    LG 34UC98 34" 21:9 3440X1440 Monitor
    Logitech 930e Webcam

    Geekbench 6695 Single 23466 Multi
    2889250
    Cinebench 1100

    everything works. iMessage, FaceTime, Handoff, Continuity, NightShift

    for comparison:
    at least in Geekbench scores

    I have the newest iMac 5K 6700K, 512GB, 32GB 2133Hz RAM, M395X and it scored 5237 single and 16309 multi
     
  10. triple-tap macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #10
    I didn't think Kaby Lake was a viable hackintosh option yet.
     
  11. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Since the new iMacs have Kaby Lake I'd wager it probably works now.
     

Share This Page