Resolved i7-940 and kernel panic

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zeke D, Aug 3, 2018.

  1. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #101
    It's a lot easier to flash a MacBookPro, Mac Pro has the most cumbersome BootROM upgrade of all Macs - every other Mac evolved around 2009~2010 and Mac Pro 5,1 on the last days of 2012 still being fabricated with that POS (zero validation, not even size) method of firmware upgrade.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #102
    Well I'm glad you pushed through because I wasn't looking forward to repeating the deep dive. I might still do it anyway later if I'm bored.

    However, I've read through this thread and I'm not too sure what needs to be mentioned in the CPU compatibility list. Is it basically that Nehalem i7 CPUs are not compatible with firmware updates 089 and later? But the Gulftown i7 CPUs are still okay?
     
  3. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #103
    I’m sure that @tsialex will correct me if I’m wrong, but that is correct, but 0087 is the firmware that dropped Nehalem i7.

     
  4. tsialex, Aug 8, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #104
    Exactly, only C0/C1 Bloomfield i7s are not compatible with 0087 forward. Btw, if you ever update your excellent compatibility table, please identify correctly the core types. It'll be important from now on.
     
  5. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #105
    *bashes head against wall*

    did no one read the last post I made in this thread?

    Nehalem/Bloomfield Core i7 and Xeon CPUs work fine in the MP4,1/5,1

    the only thing to watch out for is the C0/C1 Stepping Aka 106A4 CPUID Core i7 CPUs those where made incompatible with OS X in the MP5,1 by the 0089 BootROM.

    the D0 aka 106A5 CPUID Nehalem/Bloomfield Core i7 CPUs will work perfectly fine even on the latest BootROMs AFAIK
     
  6. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #106
    It's more complicated that that. Some Nehalem generation Xeons are 106A4 too, but these will boot without microcode, i7s 106A4 can't boot without microcode.
     
  7. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #107
    X34xx is LGA1156 sooo

    do clarify.... :confused:o_O (im getting Westmere-EX flashbacks here LOL)
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2018 ---
    Thats a sneaky edit LOL

    again tho, all "retail" LGA1366 Xeons are 106A5 only, the only 106A4 Xeons where Engineering sample prototypes.
     
  8. tsialex, Aug 8, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #108
    I've edited my previous posts. Let's go again.

    Not just i7s are C0/C1, but some early Xeons, like L5520, are 106A4 too, but seems the C0/C1 Xeons can boot macOS without microcode and C0/C1 i7s can't.

    It's going to be more complicated with CPU support from 0087 forward.
     
  9. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #109
    the Xeon L5520s only production stepping is D0 106A5...

    so again ??? :confused: nothings complicated here its just 0089 dropped 106A4 microcode. so just early i7 Guys have to watch out thats about it. (unless you happen to be running a Engineering sample class Nehalem Xeon...)

    im pretty positive that if you did get a C0/C1 106A4 Xeon and stick it in a 0087+ BootROM MP4,1/5,1 that it would kernel panic the same as the OPs Core i7 940 did.
     
  10. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #110
    I've bought a lot of Xeons on AliExpress, sellers send you anything they have.

    I have some ES Xeons, I'll check if any is C0/C1 and test for the KP.
     
  11. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #111
    outa curiosity what LGA1366 ES Xeons do you have? (ie What are the sSpecs?)

    while your at it can ya boot windows and grab a CPU Z screen shot?

    im a sucker for weird whacky and obscure PC/macintosh stuff :)
     
  12. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #112
    I'm almost certain that one of my L5506 bought on AliExpress is a ES, I have to find it and check if is a C0/C1 one.

    I have some uncommon Nec/NatSemi/Cyrix/NexGen/IBM/VIA x86 processors, but nothing that I'd call weird =)
     
  13. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #113
    The CPU table isn't really suited to the level of detail being discussed here.

    So to boil it down, how about this:

    i7 975**
    i7 965**
    i7 960**
    i7 950**
    i7 940**
    i7 930**
    i7 920**

    ** Some steppings of these CPUs don't work with certain newer Mac Pro firmware versions. See this thread.

    (And "this thread" links to the thread we are in)​

    Does that seem okay?
     
  14. tsialex, Aug 8, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #114
    Could you please do a note on ES CPUs too? Something like:

    Some steppings of Engineering Sample Nehalem Xeons don't work with BootROMs newer than 0085.
     
  15. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #115
    the Core i7 940 and Core i7 extreme edition 965 only shipped as C0/C1 106A4. so those are pretty much screwed.

    the Core i7 920 was 106A4 C0/C1 but later had a D0 106A5 release.

    the rest of the Nehalem i7 LGA1366 CPUs where all 106A5 D0 and are safe.
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #116
    Okay, so the following don't need the "** note" because they are all fine?

    i7 975
    i7 960
    i7 950
    i7 930​

    So basically, this:

    i7 975
    i7 965**
    i7 960
    i7 950
    i7 940**
    i7 930
    i7 920**

    ** Some or all steppings of these CPUs don't work with certain newer Mac Pro firmware versions applied by High Sierra 10.13.5 updates and newer. See this thread.​
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2018 ---
    Sorry, I have a personal issue against doing that.

    I do not object in the slightest if others want to support ES processors and use their own personal time to add the appropriate compatibility information. The first post is a wiki--anyone can edit it and I encourage them to do so.
     
  17. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #117
    3EBC6923-6313-4728-9A97-E0374C7E9F3A.jpeg LOL. I booted into Lion because I reset the SMC, and apparently, Lion no likey the i7...
     
  18. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #118
    The adventure continues. Using @dosdude1 's installer, I tried to install Mojave on the 4,1 with the i7-940 in it, and no dice. The installer wouldn't even load. Put the xeon back in, and everything works.
     
  19. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #119
    Why? Your 4,1>5,1 is supported on Mojave.
     
  20. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #120
    But no metal or wifi. I erroneously thought that @dosdude1 's patch would make the video work, but all I cab do on my GT8800 or GT120 is 1680x1680, which is unusable on my monitor.
     
  21. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #121
    Get a real Apple BCM94322MC and try to find a cheap PC eVGA GTX680, 5' to flash with eVGA GTX680 Mac Edition ROM.
     
  22. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #122
    Sometime down the road, I'll do that. The BCM94322MC arrived yesterday, but I haven't had a chance to put it in. (I'm actually gonna put it in my 2010, and put that card in the 2009, since I'm having random wireless issues in Windows on my 2010.)

    As for the PC GTX680, I'm keeping an eye on eBay, but I don't gave the funds right now.

     
  23. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #123
    I've looked for almost six months for one eVGA GTX 680 Mac Edition on the cheap. When I finally found one, two weeks later I've found another, this time a PC version (Signature 4GB with backplate). Now I have Metal cards for all my MPs.
     
  24. verdejt macrumors 6502

    verdejt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #124
  25. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #125
    I've payed ~$120 on my eVGA SC 4GB and flashed it in 5', $230 is a hell of markup.
     

Share This Page