i7 Mini throttling?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MatthewAMEL, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    Greetings all.

    How do you determine if the Mini is throttling?

    During Handbrake encodes (MKV -> aTV3 preset) my mini hits 95C and stays there until the encode is done.

    Exhaust fan is running at 5300rpm.

    Temps/speeds monitored using iStat Menus.

    Thanks.
     
  2. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #2
    That is all normal.

    The intel power gadget app gives you an idea of your CPU frequency. It doesn't show it throttling but will at least show the Turbo boost running. My 2.6ghz quad sits at around 3.40ghz on a handbrake encode.
     
  3. LaunchpadBS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    iLondon/iDurban
    #3
    SMC fan control and up the RPM, I do it when putting heavy load on the CPU, works well enough, also remember these components can operate safely at that temp for quite some time.
     
  4. willdog123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Hi

    I have a 2.6Ghz i7 that should turbo boost to 3.6Ghz, but when converting video

    Temp goes to 100C, fan goes to 5300rpm, but cpu max out at 3.4Ghz

    But when i manually increase the fan speed to 5500rpm using istats menus, temp drops to 85C, but cpu is still at 3.4Ghz

    i have never seen the cpu go above 3.4Ghz, so kinda annoyed that the $110 upgrade didn't do much.

    Also in both cases istats menus is reporting 96%~99% cpu

    I use intel power gadget to measure the cpu clock speed

    An explanation would be greatly appreciated guys
     
  5. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #5
    Your figures are all right.

    It can only go to 3.6 if capable, most likely when using 1 or 2 cores. But when using all four it cannot hit 3.6. There were a few posts in the last few months on this.

    Basically the max any combination of cores can operate at is 3.6 in your case. But 4 cores will likely max the turbo at 3.4 or thereabouts. Mine is the same. That is the way it is designed.

    Some posters have suggested only 1 core can hit 3.6 and all four hit 2.6 but that is wrong. Check the turbo boost info on intel and they will confirm what I am saying.

    I wouldn't be upset. Your CPU is working exactly as it is designed.
     
  6. MatthewAMEL thread starter macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #6
    http://ark.intel.com/products/64891

    The top speed advertised is only applicable to single-core apps.

    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us...ology/turbo-boost/turbo-boost-technology.html

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Turbo_Boost
     

Share This Page