i7 or Fusion Drive or 16G Ram? 21 vs 27?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MOeOthman, Feb 18, 2014.

1. MOeOthman macrumors newbie

Hello,
    I'm planning on purchasing a 21 inch imac 2.9 GHZ (OR a 27 inch 3.2 GHZ, ill get to that in the end)

I'm trying to find out whether i should upgrade to an i7 processor, Fusion Drive, or the 16G Ram on the 21 inch.

I basically do video editing ( i make videos for youtube for a living), so ill be doing video editing stuff, i also plan on playing some video games on my mac like league of legends on it.

Is it neccesary for me to upgrade to any of the 3 upgrades stated above? If so, which one? and why not the others? Which is most important to have?

As for the 27 inch, the reason why i'm looking into that one now instead is because someone told me it's better to get the 27 inch imac for now, and just upgrade the ram from a cheaper 3rd party anytime you need it because it can be personally upgraded but the 21 inch cant. So if i feel that i dont need the extra ram, i dont need to waste money on buying it, but if i go for the 21 inch, im forced to upgrade the RAM because i cant see the future.

I REALLY need someone to give me a full detailed, best response i can receive possible, ive been stuck in this dilemma for about 3 weeks lol, im getting really anxious. I dont wanna go overboard and spend a ton of money on extra ram, or a fusion drive or processor if i dont need it. I'm a college student so my budget isnt endless.

Thank You.

2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

If you do video editing, you'll see a 20-30% performance improvement with an i7 in general (even the 3.4GHz i5 is no match for the 3.1GHz i7) because the i7 has 8 threads (the i5 only has 4).

Here's the comparison between the 3.2GHz i5 (base 27") vs the 3.1GHz i7 (high end CTO 21.5"): http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/601/Intel_Core_i5_i5-4570S_vs_Intel_Core_i7_i7-4770S.html