i7 vs i5 and 1600mhz on MBP 13" (2011 version)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AvnGr, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. AvnGr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #1
    Hey peeps,

    I realize this question might be asked elsewhere but i tried looking for it to no avail so I am posting my own thread and I have 2 questions.

    1) I'm completely new to the Mac world and I am wondering if the 300$ difference is worth it for the i7 processor on the MBP 13"?

    I am a college student majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I love creating stuff on the side like music (Garage band YAY!) and I use Photoshop a lot to create photo manipulations for fun. I also play the occasional video game but nothing too serious. That being said, is the difference worth it?

    2) will 1600 mhz DDR3 SO-DIMM Ram (specifically Kingston Hyperx) work on the core i5 or core i7 13" MPB?

    Cheers
     
  2. AvnGr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #4
    no as it not worth or no as in 1600 mhz ram won't work?
     
  3. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #5
    The i7 isn't worth the price difference for the 13". However if you got money to burn, then get the i7. As for the 1600mhz on ram, they do work - however the system is limited to 1333mhz and you won't utilize the full potential. But if you HAVE TOO have 1600mhz it will work. But it won't run at it's full speed of 1600mhz.
     
  4. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #6
    There's very little real world benefits to the i7 or the faster ram in the 13". If you really want a faster system your best bet is to add an SSD or upgrade to the 15". Or, grab the 15" and get the SSD.
     
  5. xxBURT0Nxx, Jun 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011

    xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #7
    This...

    You will really see no benefit from the i7 in day to day use. It might encode your movies 5% faster than the i5, but when doing school work, writing papers, surfing the net, listening to music, etc. you won't notice any difference.

    1600mhz RAM will work just fine, i wouldn't expect huge speed increases when using it though.

    i don't think that's true for the new mbp's. There is a whole thread with people who have installed 1600mhz ram and the machine is recognizing it and performing slightly better in memory tests than machines with 1333mhz ram.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1133642
     
  6. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #8

    It is true. I'm one that has both the 1333 and the 1600 memory. Yes, the 1600 is a tad faster, but not dramatically since the cpu can only transfer so much.
     
  7. AvnGr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for the replies guys. I think in gonna get the MBP 13" with the i5 and replace the HDD with a WD scropio black and add the 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1600 kit.. How does that sound?
     
  8. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
  9. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
  10. AvnGr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #12
    I'm afraid somthings come up and have to wait till the fall. Thanks for the info though
     
  11. MacsOnAnabolics macrumors regular

    MacsOnAnabolics

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    #13
    No not worth it. No the RAM won't work in your MBP; only the 2.2 and 2.3GHz Quad-Core i7 MBP.
     
  12. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #14
    lol obviously not since it's only been proven that it does work.
     
  13. MacsOnAnabolics macrumors regular

    MacsOnAnabolics

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    #15
    Wrong, wrong and wrong. I hope you didn't waste your money on the HyperX. Won't work on your MBP. Only High-end quad cores...
     
  14. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #16
    actually you are wrong, wrong and wrong... it will work just fine. It will still be 1333mhz but it's still going to work
     
  15. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #17
    Your wrong. It does work, but you won't get the full benefits of speed like the higher end MBP quad cores. You will see a small increase, but it will be there. The question is do you want to spend the extra money for a small increase? You can say all you want about it not working. Until you have both the MBP and memory you should listen to the people who have that equipment.
     
  16. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #18
    I got the i7 13". I couldn't help myself! I just needed to know I had the top of the line for that model size.
     
  17. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #19
    Why?

    That seems a rather vain reason--why not get the base and donate the $300 (or $500, if you're near a Microcenter) to homeless relief or something similar? Just a question.
     
  18. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #20
    More RAM is better than RAM speed. Frankly RAM speed has very little to say except in synthetic benchmarks:

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ram-speed-tests,1807.html

     
  19. MacsOnAnabolics macrumors regular

    MacsOnAnabolics

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    #21
    Exactly. It's not going to work at 1600mhz.
     
  20. Deasnutz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #22
    Is this from evidence you have gathered yourself, or things extrapolated from other posts and websites?
     

Share This Page