IBM Via Voice and/or Scanning Pen - advice anyone

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rhrussel, Nov 24, 2007.

1. rhrussel macrumors newbie

Student here with one of the first Macbooks (hopelessly slow, upgrading to 1GB ram v. soon), and I'm dealing with a lot of text for research. Have any of you had any luck with:

1) Scanning pens. I see some on amazon, they get mixed reviews and are old. Has anyone had any good experiences? Are there any more recent and newer devices that can scan in text from books and articles in libraries?

2) Voice recognition. All the reviews say that Dragon Naturally Speaking is superior to Via Voice. Does that mean that Via Voice is bad, or it just can't perform all of the functions? I just need to dictate text.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

2. forrestmc4 macrumors regular

As a fellow student I have had the same urges to simplify large research projects using dictation (though voice recognition software is a pain for me for some reason) and selective text scanning.

I look forward to any answers that others have.

3. hogmog macrumors member

Voice recognition software is useful for:
    1) transcribing research interviews (listen to audio recording and speaking back what you hear)
    2) transcribing dictations (either direct to computer or via a digital audio recorder)
    3) controlling you machine

I use Dragon NS 9 on a Windows box (2 Ghz Pentium 4, 1 gig, nearly 5 yrs old) for 1) and 2) because:

a) Via Voice does not appear to have been updated for years (perhaps suffering from IBM's 'buy and let the software wither' syndrome)
    b) I was well impressed by the Dragon demo at an education show
    c) at the time I hadn't decided to move completely to the Mac