iBook G3 14"

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by redhatcode29, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. redhatcode29, Dec 27, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015

    redhatcode29 macrumors 6502

    redhatcode29

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #1
    I knew it was not functional, but a bargain for US12.00 is a total YES. (over here the charger alone sells for US75.00).

    The seller had informed that it chimes but there is no display though. He too had bought it in such condition, hoping to revive it, but never attempted to revive it.

    The fact it chimed alone was good enough for me !


    As soon as i got home, booted it up with 'option' there was nothing. 2nd attempt ...WOOOOW, i was jumping. There were no words to express my joy !!

    IMG_1682.JPG






    The rom drive did not open, so i poked it with a paper clip and slotted an iBook installer which i had, hoping that it'll work, but id didn't.

    IMG_1686.JPG





    So i opted for 10.2, whoola it kicked in..

    IMG_1688.JPG








    Getting greedy, i replaced the disc with 10.1, too bad it didnt work, so i went on with the 10.2, checked the disk utility and yeah superb the HDD was detectable..


    IMG_1691.JPG



    At this stage i was pretty much sure of completing this installation..... THEN IT HAPPENED ! Now the screen does not lit at all!!

    IMG_1692.JPG

    View attachment 607466

    IMG_1694.JPG

    IMG_1696.JPG




    :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:( A short lived joy :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(



    However i have managed to narrow down the the model to a 700mhz iBook G3, as the the other two models of the iBook were preinstalled with 10.2++, so no way it could have been able to take the 10.2 disc, also the 30GB HDD, though the 800Mhz has a 30GB too.

    Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 12.42.28 AM.png



    only the 700Mhz model would have been able to take a 10.2 disc
    Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 12.48.08 AM.png



    So guys, is it the graphic card or the cable of the screen ?? the seller mentioned about the Mac needing to be 're-balled' and a need to solder the cable/ribbon.

    if its the graphic card...then i am doomed i guess
    Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 2.05.48 AM.png
     
  2. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Either get a new logic board, or bake the logic board in the oven
     
  3. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #3
    Or play around with a shim over the GPU. It sometimes did the trick with a G3.
     
  4. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    That will work sometimes, but depending on how bad the issue is, the shim may now allow the case to close
     
  5. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #5
    I shimmed my 800 MHz G3 for quite a while back in the day.

    Of course then the display cable got pinched in the hinge.

    Then the backlight died

    Then the optical drive died

    Then the hard drive died. :rolleyes:
     
  6. redhatcode29 thread starter macrumors 6502

    redhatcode29

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #6
    So what did you do with it ...
     
  7. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #7
    I kept it sitting around for a number of years, but eventually just chucked it.
     

Share This Page