iBook G3 Flash and AirPort [Need assistance]

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Roburt, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. Roburt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #1
    Hey guys, first I'd like to introduce myself, I'm Robert and well back to the topic
    I've been looking every forum for help about this for the past 2 weeks but I just couldn't help it to give up and try making a post
    I own this iBook G3 500mhz 3xx MB RAM and currently running Mac OS 10.3.9
    Panther I believe, and I just got it from a friend, well there are 2 things:
    - It has an airport card which I already checked and it's there but doesn't work
    - I can access Facebook and get to login but it doesn't show anything but the search bar and the little F logo top left,
    Tried 3 pre-installed web browsers: Netscape, Safari & Internet Explorer 5.2:Mac
    None would display it correctly,
    I'm out of ideas, speaking of airport I unplugged it and put it back until I heard the click,
    Flash.. Well I read something about a flash hack? Which makes fb think you have a newer flash
    And that's all I've found, yet fixed nothing
    Thank you for reading and I'm hoping you can help me
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    For the WiFi/Airport, are you trying to connect it to a WPA2 only network? It will only connect to an open, WEP, or WPA type.

    For a web browser your choices are fairly limited. One of the better, yet still highly outdated, ones would be Firefox version 2.0.22: ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0.0.20/mac/en-US/. It'll do more stuff than the stock browsers, but still render things poorly.

    For the modified version of Flash player that reports its version as 11.5, you need to be running Tiger/10.4.11. I do suggest at least upgrading to 10.4.11 so that you can get a more modern web browser such as TenFourFox.
     
  3. Roburt, Jan 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2014

    Roburt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #3
    Hey I'll get my hands on that browser thank you,
    Now with the airport, it's not getting detected, however I do have an airport tab in the network preferences, but just says that airport is turned off and the turn airport on shows gray (unclickable)


    Edit: I wanted to upgrade but I didn't get a tiger disc and it's been a pain in the arse to find it, despite trying to buy it, I was also trying to download it somewhere and so I bought a few (8) blank CDs but I haven't used them since I had no idea on how to do that with tiger
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    You have have to click the little padlock in the lower left corner of the window before you can click the button to turn the Airport on.
     
  5. Roburt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #5
    [​IMG]

    An image response
     
  6. Roburt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #6
    [​IMG]
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    From your screenshot you are not connected using Airport because the Mac is already getting an IP address from the Ethernet port.

    Disconnect your Ethernet cable.

    You can only be connected by one network device at a time (at least without additional software).
     

Share This Page