ical sets "all day event" as default

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nbnbxdnb, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. nbnbxdnb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #1
    Hello guys,

    I have this problem with iCal. It automatically set new events I add in as "all day" event. So everytime after adding a new event, I have to change it to non all-day events. It is just more than annoying. After I check off "all day", the duration will be automatically set to several hours. Then I have to change duration.

    Before this problem, I had new events set as non "all day" as default, and the duration was half of a hr by default. Can you help me to change everything back to what they were? Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Mac In School macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #2
    Dunno about a fix, but there are other ways to enter events which will speed up this process.

    I use the week view. If I want something that runs from 9:00 - 12:00, I click on the 9:00 line and drag down to the 12:00 line.
     
  3. mmduluth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #3
    Probably the most annoying change in Lion. It took me forever to realize I wasn’t getting the pop ups I have set as reminders weren’t coming up because they were set to all day events as defaults. I have my gmail linked to me iCal and it syncs with my Android phone so it would normally pop up on my phone as well, but with the all day thing I was missing all of my reminders.
     
  4. nbnbxdnb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for your input. I figured it out just now. I deleted the ical plist file. The automatically generated new plist didn't give my same problem again.
    But after preference got synced by MobileMe, I started to have same problem again. So I cleaned up the plist again, and reset data on MobileMe. That solved the problem.
     
  5. gilles9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #5
    Hello,

    I understand and know how to delete the plist

    but can you elaborate on how you reset data on Mobile me

    Thanks
     
  6. icanboogie, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011

    icanboogie macrumors regular

    icanboogie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #6
    If you enter a new Event and type eg. "1200" at the end, iCal automatically schedules this event at 12:00, with a one-hour-timeframe. If you do not enter any time, it is a day-event, as described by TO.

    I find this rather handy, as I now can enter an event with the right time without any further clicks.

    (edit: don't know if this worked before Lion, just recently found out.)
     
  7. nbnbxdnb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #7
    Sorry, I didn't check this post for a while. You can go to advanced menu in preference/mobileme to reset data. Then you will be asked to wipe out the data in cloud or local.

    There is also a reset sync service option, which can be accessed from the MobileMe icon in menu bar. But you need to hold alt and click the icon to bring out an expert menu or whatever u want to call it.

    Hope it is helpful. GL.

    ----------

    Thank you so much. How did you figure this out? You are amazing!

    I think I am being critical or mean. But this is almost like typing some code to activate a perfectly normal function. Why do these apple technicians think we can figure this out just by trying?? They can at least throw out a quick tutorial like how they introduced other cooler features in lion. This new feature just costed me 2 hrs to realize. Wonderful, apple!
     
  8. icanboogie macrumors regular

    icanboogie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin
    #8
    right, some things we can only find out by mistake or by trying around.
    I guess that's what apple calls the "intuitive" way ...
    :rolleyes:
     
  9. Bob Campbell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    #9
    Sorry, nbnbxdnb, but can you tell me how I delete the plist file for iCal - the all-day business annoys the hell out of me too!

    ----------

    If you enter a new Event and type eg. "1200" at the end, iCal automatically schedules this event at 12:00, with a one-hour-timeframe.

    And if you enter 1000-1200 or 1000-1500, you'll get a 2 or 5 hour meeting. Format is [subject] [date in format 17/12 or 17 Dec] probably depends on region and then time of event in format [1015-1315] - it's certainly quick ...
     
  10. rogercorke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #10
    ICal sets all day event by default

    ICal sets "all day event" by default on my iPad. Other people have said you can get rid of this by typing the time at the end of the event but this doesn't work for me. Does anyone have another solution? I never want to use the all day option so i'dlike to switch it off permanently
     
  11. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI

Share This Page