iChat Compatibility

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kevo0822, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. kevo0822 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #1
    Does anyone know if those using Leopard's new iChat will have compatibility issues when trying to connect/video chat with Tiger users?
     
  2. Shanley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Finger Lakes
    #2
    Similar Question

    Is there a way for Mac users to chat with Windows users using voice and video? I'm getting ready to buy by first mac since Apple IIe so if this is a dumb question foregive me.
     
  3. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #3
    You can use skype for audio/video or adium for chatting.
     
  4. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    There should not be any compatibility issues. But you may not be able to use all the new features Leopard has like screen sharing etc
     
  5. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #5
    Can you use Adium on a Mac to chat with MSN users on a windows PC?

    TS
     
  6. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    Yes I do it all the time
     
  7. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #7
    what about Video and/or Audio??

    That is what I meant in the first place, sorry. I know you can talk with text in chat.

    TS
     
  8. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #8
    Nope no audio/ video compatibility as yet thats why I suggested Skype for that purpose.
    I wish Adium would support it though
     
  9. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #9
    Can AIM on PC video and/or audio with ichat on a Mac???

    TS
     
  10. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #10
    Yes I've done that. You can do that as well. I used an Aim account to log in to ichat as well.
     
  11. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #11
    I use AIM to log into iChat also. So if you are using iChat with an AIM account then you can video conference with a user on AIM for PC? I'll have to try this...

    TS
     
  12. Nanaki macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    #12
    Yes

    Yes, I do it with my GF all the time while she's in med school. She's on AIM for Windows, I'm on Tiger's iChat. Adium does not support video as far as I know, but iChat works as great as the other persons windows webcam will allow.
     
  13. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #13
    I prefer skype though
    somehow I experience a lag while using aim through iChat
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    I don't know if it's their cameras, or what, but the video quality for AIM users is fairly poor for me. Poorer than an iChat/iSight <-> iChat/iSight conference.
     

Share This Page