ichat help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by comebackdwn, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. comebackdwn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #1
    so im trying to video chat with a friend of mine. however, it is not working.

    everytime we try to connect on my computer it says he is not responding. on his computer it says that i cancelled the request.

    anyone know what the problem could be?
     
  2. Jason S. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    If he's using Windows, make sure he's using AIM 6. From my experiences, earlier versions did not connect with me.

    If he's also using a Mac, I'm not really sure, heh...
     
  3. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #3
    we need more details than this...not alot to work from :p
     
  4. comebackdwn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #4
    k. he is on a mackbook pro.

    i am on an imac.

    we both have aim accounts and are using ichat.

    both of our settings are the same. (they are set to the norm, however they come)

    basically. when we try to video connect, things start looking like they are going to work. then when it gets to starting video, it just doesnt work. an error message pops up on both our screens saying what i stated earlier.
     
  5. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #5
    have you got any firewalls or anything running?
     
  6. comebackdwn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #6
    not that i know of....i havent made any changes like that to the computer.
     
  7. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Firewall could be in the router, or if you're on some sort of shared network (like at a University) that could do it too. I know I can't video chat with users outside of Bradley University's network.

    Not that I would want to try, given this 42 Mbit of bandwidth shared between 6,000 students and all facilities.
     
  8. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #8
    no way lol 42 mbits for that many computers...thats stupid
     
  9. surfboy041215 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
  10. ZenErik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts

Share This Page