iChat keeps freezing

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by XFacta82, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. XFacta82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    When I go to video chat, after a minute or so the feed freezes and I have to force quit ichat. Why is this happening?
     
  2. mike21190 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
  3. Wadadli24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #3
    same issue here...I just got my mac book pro today so and everything has been updated
     
  4. juice831 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Salinas, CA
    #4
    this happens to me too... anybody know how to fix this?
     
  5. ant-macyourself macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #5
    Have you tried deleting your iChat preference files? You can do so by going to Username > Library > Preferences and then trashing the ones that start with com.apple.iChat.

    If that doesn't work, perhaps uninstalling and reinstalling iChat from your Tiger/Leopard disc might do it? Here are some detailed instructions for doing the install.
     
  6. Wadadli24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
  7. Samarium macrumors 6502a

    Samarium

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    @ home.
    #7
    Well that happened to me all the time so I switched to Skype which work's great.
     
  8. XFacta82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #8
    Just wondering, why would I delete all those preferences. Don't they serve a purpose or something?
     
  9. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Both me and my wife have the same problem. Its annoying really because I am so far away and we rely on iChat for communication.

    We have sent a request to Apple and hopefully they will fix this. But this issue happens often enough, at least 3 or 4 times daily :(

    It all started for us when we upgraded to 10.5.4
     
  10. Wadadli24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #10
    i have been using skype in the meantime but I would really love to use ichat again....fix this please apple
     

Share This Page