iChat Leopard (Jabber to Jabber)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Wild-Bill, Nov 10, 2007.

1. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

Wild-Bill

Good morning.

I was wondering if anyone here has tried video chat in Leopard between two Jabber clients (Google Talk to Google talk). I have never done a video chat before because I have a Powerbook.

After much convincing I got my sister to buy a Macbook. I'd like to use the screen sharing feature in order to show her how to use OSX and highlight some features, etc.... I also want to give video chat a try. I hooked up my Panasonic video camera through firewire and all seems ok.

QUESTION

I'm waiting for her to call me today so I can try this. I was wondering, for those of you who have tried video chat via two Jabber clients:
    • Were there any issues you encountered?
    • Did you have to change firewall settings on an external firewall (dlink, netgear)
    • Are default video settings ok or should i expect to change them due to choppiness, etc?
    • Is there a way to do a video chat "test" beforehand?

My sister is a little iffy on her new Macbook purchase, due in larger part to her own errors. After configuring her firewall to add the MAC address of her wireless, I had to hang up with her and leave for a meeting. 1.5 hours later when I called back she was mad because she couldn't find the iWork 08 and Office Mac 2004 trials, nor any user guides. This prompted her to re-install Leopard. Of course when I called her back I told her she should have just waited for me. And after the reinstall I showed her where all her applications were, and the users guides which she swears weren't there before. (yeah right)