iChat Ruining School Network?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ajchapinjr.com, Nov 13, 2007.

1. ajchapinjr.com macrumors member

Hey all... a little story time for you before I ask my question.

I'm currently a student in Vermont. Before I left for school in August, I ran down to Staples and bought a Linksys Wireless Access Point (not a router, because I was aware of the school's distaste for them). The first week of school, I plugged it in and everything worked fine. I called IT, told them I would like them to check it out and approve it ... if they didn't think it was all peaches, I would return it when I went home to Connecticut that first weekend. They approved of it because it wouldn't be serving IP addresses.

I ran it for weeks. Until last Tuesday, when I had a knock at the door. I said "Yeah, come in..." and I recieved a response of "It's IT. Open the door."

I opened the door, and a group of IT techs walked into my room and demanded that I hand over the wireless access point. I said "You approved of this in September," etc...but nothing worked. They wouldn't answer my questions, they only told me that my access point was "ruining the network," and that I'd have to speak with the head of IT when he returned from vacation. This really "grinded my gears." As you can imagine, I wrote a few angry emails.

Anyway, he returned today. I spoke with the head of IT about it, and he said he couldn't explain it but my access point began serving out IP addresses, and it was causing conflicts on the network. He told me that my $70 piece of equipment was useless. Which means I'm stuck with an access point I can't use and can't return.