iChat: Too Many Login Attempts?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by robuccallero, Mar 1, 2008.

1. robuccallero macrumors newbie

I've been having trouble logging into iChat. When I click the icon it makes the log in sound like 10 times and then an error pops up saying "Could not log in. You have attempted to log in too often in a short period of time. Wait a few minutes before trying to log in again." I haven't tried logging in like crazy and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Help!

Please forgive me if this is a easily fixed problem. I just got my [first] macbook this week and I'm still learning.

Thanks!

--RoBuccaLlero:confused:

2. DaMacRaptor macrumors newbie

I am having that same problem, but am having no luck can anyone help

3. TerryCPiano macrumors newbie

What u want to try is restart ur mac.For jabber, how to create a account? like what to type after ur name?:confused:

4. Hitnrun3488 macrumors newbie

The fix for the Too Many Log in Attempts Error

ichat - pref - server settings - change the port to 5297 or 5298 or 5220 or 5222 for some reason this works, do not ask me how, but thats the fix

5. jle macrumors newbie

Possible Reason for Error