iChat without .mac or AIM

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mr.light, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. mr.light macrumors 6502

    #1
    I did do a search on this and found nothing.

    Someone asked me that the other day and I said I didn't think it could be done. They asked why and I couldn't actually answer. Does anyone know if there is a way to get iChat to use accounts from other chats such as msn or adium? It seems that without a .mac account the iSight is a bit of a waste isn't it? I know that the cost of a .mac account is minimal but even if I had it I can only video chat with other people with a .mac account. That and I object to having to pay extra just to use one of the basic functions of my computer.
     
  2. mr.light thread starter macrumors 6502

    #2
    Dumb question I guess. Oh well, Thanks anyway.:eek:
     
  3. suprajoe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #3
    Not a dumb question. As far as I know, iChat does not work with MSN. I have setup iChat to work with a Jabber account and used that with my Gmail chat. If you try a google search on this, it my be more resourceful. Sorry I couldn't have been more help to you. If I do find more info, I will post up.
     
  4. mr.light thread starter macrumors 6502

    #4
    Thank you for your reply and thank you in advance for any info you can find. I will try to google it as well. It seems silly to have the camera and not be able to use it except for talking to other people with Macs and .Mac accounts.
     
  5. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    It also works for anyone with an AIM account and AIM.
     
  6. imdanerd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #6
  7. MaciPilot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    From Wikipedia:
    iChat AV is an AOL Instant Messenger (AIM), .Mac, ICQ and XMPP (Jabber) client by Apple and uses AIM Oscar protocol.

    In iChat Help it says: "You can use iChat with .Mac, AIM, Google Talk, or Jabber." and "iChat supports video chatting with AIM buddies who are using the most recent version of AOL for Windows. If your AIM buddy’s computer has a video camera connected, you can start a video chat, or accept a video chat invitation.

    AIM does not support audio chatting, but if your video camera and your buddy’s video camera have microphones, you can hear each other in your video chat.

    The video quality from AIM buddies may be poor, due to the video software they are using. This is not a problem with iChat".

    I have a .Mac account and chat with an AIM account.

    In a Wikipedia article I read that Windows Live Messenger Version 9 (to be released late 2008), may be interoperable with AIM/ICQ/XMPP.
     
  8. err404 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #8
    I know this isn't what your asking, but I use Skype for audio or video chat since it's cross platform (a lot of my friends are on PCs) and good quality. For IM, Adium can't be beat.
    I'd like to be able to use iChat, but the fact of the matter is, a chat program is only as good as the friends also using it.
     
  9. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #9
    Just an FYI: Adium doesn't have its own accounts. It is just a mechanism to allow you to chat with users from multiple services (such as AIM, iChat, MSN, Jabber, Yahoo, etc.)
     
  10. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #10
    A lot of people don't realize this great application exists. I just introduced my brother to it and he was amazed that we could do audio/video chats for free.
     
  11. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    greer SC
    #11
    I went to go and look at that sight I thought I seen that it was free but when I went to sign up it sent me to another section telling me how much it cost.
     
  12. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #12
    It only costs money if you want to get VoIP phone calls from people via a POTS-style phone number (or use a hardware Skype phone with a phone number). Using their service between computers is completely free.
     
  13. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    greer SC
    #14
    Ok thank you for the update. I will check into again later.
     
  14. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #15
    Google Talk works very well using iChatAV. In the house we use Bonjour.
     
  15. mr.light thread starter macrumors 6502

    #16
    I messed around with Skype for a while last year. I also saw the cost page and then gave up on it. I had no idea you could use it like an video IM. Guess I need to look more closely at it and dust off my account.
     
  16. plangly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #17
    download a program called pqi, setup an account with any jabber server. then asign the msn protocool in it for the jabber server to convert msn to jabber. pqi then once your contacts are imported, this is automactic on the msn service login. from now you can delele pqi all you need is your jabber id and password, configure ichat with that and its all done.

    note attachments voice and video chat cant be done this way
     

Share This Page