iChat without .mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by thechris69, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. thechris69 macrumors 6502

    thechris69

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    #1
    Hello,

    I went to register iChat but it says I need a .mac account, which ends up costing $110 a year, and as a U of T student I dont have that kind of money at the moment...

    Is there any way I can use iChat without having to pay $110 a year for it?

    Someone mentioned something to me with regards to AIM and its compatibility with iChat but I wasn't sure what they meant:apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Get a Gmail account and sign up for AIM with that. Both are free. Use that AIM account to log into iChat.
     
  3. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    You should be able to use it without having a MobileMe account. If you can't get that to work I'd suggest downloading Adium. It's free.
     
  4. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #4
    Yes, you can use an AOL/AIM account for iChat.

    Just go to the iChat Preferences -> Accounts, add new account.

    You can also use GoogleTalk.
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    Just click cancel when it asks, then use the iChat Preferences and to add your AIM account.

    TEG
     

Share This Page