iCloud auto backup working for anyone?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by andybno1, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #1
    I charged my phone last night with wifi on and locked via wall plug and Apple say these are the conditions for auto iCloud backup.... this does not seem the case as my phone still said last backup was yesterday morning...... anyone else finding this is the case for them?
     
  2. sparkstsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #2
    Same problem here. Got home last night and hooked up to charger. Got up this morning and last backup was from the manual backup I did yesterday.
     
  3. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #3
    Same here. left my iPad over night but still showed manual backup from day before.
     
  4. gloomcookie1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    #4
    That happened the first time for me as well a couple of days ago, but after I hit the backup now button it has automatically backed up the last 2 mornings - it's been doing it around 5:30 or so both mornings.
     
  5. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5
    Each time I check for an auto backup and there is none, I hit Back Up Now and it has not changed anything.
     
  6. Hello... macrumors 6502a

    Hello...

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
  7. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
  8. mbhforum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #8
    I posted another thread about this as well. Seems to be very buggy. Works fine on my iPad 2, and my wife's iPhone 4. Has not worked properly on my iPhone 4 and now 4s. Manual backups work fine, and Automatic Wifi Sync to iTunes works fine as well. I am not sure of the timing of the automatic iTunes backups as my wife's seems to happen at 4-5am even though she charges it at midnight. It seems very inconsistent.
     
  9. donnaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #9
    I originally had an issue with my iPad not backing up but it was because my pc was set to hibernate. I don't use that laptop much. I experimented and set it to never hibernate and the auto backups have been working fine. Every morning about 1 am. But to be honest, I think I'll set the laptop back to the original settings and backup manually. No need for it to run all the time just for this.

    If anybody has had their backup process wake their computer automatically I would love to hear it.
     
  10. mbhforum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    What does the iCloud backup have to do with your computer? Are you confusing it with iTunes Wifi Sync?
     
  11. donnaw macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #11
    Oops, sorry. I mis-read the thread. I was having trouble with the wifi sync.

    Sorry, please disregard my inane post.
     
  12. driftless macrumors demi-god

    driftless

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago-area
    #12
    How do you manually back up?
     
  13. Graig macrumors 6502

    Graig

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
    My iPad 1 has not given me a last backup date once. It seems to backup when I hit backup now, but says last backup unknown, Also in manage backup show as Never.
     
  14. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #14
    What had you changed in that time?

    It may be that it only backs up where there have been changes since the previous backup.

    iCloud auto backup is definitely working for me.
     
  15. andybno1, Oct 16, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011

    andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #15
    go to settings then iCloud then scroll to bottom and theres storage & backup hit that then at bottom of next page is backup button.... I think I'm off to the bugreport website to report the issue

    EDIT: while we're on the subject anyone know the point of the backup options in iTunes? I always have backup to iCloud and that seems to nothing
     
  16. Graig macrumors 6502

    Graig

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  17. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #17
    if you are happy to try this then next thing I can suggest is maybe a corrupt backup is in place on the server and delete the backup on the server.

    go back to the screen with the backup button click manage storage, click on your device in there then scroll to bottom and click delete backup.... iPhone will ask to confirm turning off backup and delete click that button.

    Go back to the back up now button screen turn backups on and then back up now and see if that works.
     
  18. byrnsy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #18
    I've been having the same problem of my iPhone not automatically backing up to iCloud BUT after trying everything suggested (including deleting all my previous manual back ups incase of corruption, without any change) mine finally worked last night! The thing I did differently was re read the instructions on my phone, and noticed the '...plugged in, locked, and connected to Wi-Fi.' I had been letting my phone auto lock. So, this time I plugged it in, turned on the power source and then pressed the Wake/Sleep button on the top to lock my phone. This morning I checked and I've my first auto back up. I hope this works for some others too. Good luck!
     
  19. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #19
    glad it's working for you I am still not getting it to work and on top of that Apple being the clever people they are asked me to connect my iPhone to computer and reproudce this automatic process and post logs to them lol
     
  20. SC. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #20
    Not sure if this helps with the iCloud backup issue, but you can option-click the phone icon under the device list in iTunes and then select Backup.....I don't really know why it's quite so hidden....
     
  21. munkery macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #21
    This is just my speculation but I think it works somewhat like Time Machine in that it only does a backup if some element of the backup's contents has changed since the last backup. Obviously, it doesn't retain multiple versions of an item in backup.
     
  22. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #22
    would of thought texting would come under a change since last backup lol but anyway I have reported to apple but as per my last post they actually asked me to repruce the problem which I thought was a bit silly since it's an automatic thing lol
     
  23. munkery macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #23
    Do text messages and emails get backed up?

    Is it possible that data only gets backed up via the non iOS backup related iCloud storage options, such as the options for Mail and Documents & Data?

    Those apps don't appear in the list found via manage storage in the iCloud settings.

    I was only looking at this in terms of changes to apps that occur in relation to apps in that list.
     
  24. munkery macrumors 68020

    munkery

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #24
    Do users having this issue use a passcode?

    Maybe the backup service is blocked by locking the device with passcode?
     
  25. andybno1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #25
    it does backup texts but it's not listed, also camera roll is listed when you manage storage data, I have photostream disabled I haven't had that at least trigger a backup.
     

Share This Page