iCloud Backup Issues

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by OC513, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. OC513 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Anyone else experiencing the iCloud bug where it won't complete the backup? I searched here and couldn't find it but its all over the net. I have no current iCloud backups when looking on phone or iMac yet the backup will not complete. Been this way since I updated to iOS9, I am on current public beta. Any ideas?
     
  2. stcasey macrumors newbie

    stcasey

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    I had noticed that my iPad Air 1 and my iPhone 6 Plus weren't doing iCloud backups on there own either just yesterday as my phone and iPad notified me that no backups have occured for about a month. I have been enrolled in and running the new iOS 9 Public Beta. I just completed a backup on each this morning. The key difference that I noticed is that this time I kept the backup UI open once I started the backup and didn't navigate away from the page and--voila!--the backups completed just like clockwork. Normally, you can navigate away from the page while the backup runs in the background, but not right now, apparently. Maybe there is some sort of bug in existence right now that forces you to stay on the page while the backup completes. ? Try that.
     
  3. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #3
    iCloud backup has been spotty on these betas. It was working consistently on my Air 1 but not on my 6+ on public beat 2. We'll see how it goes on the new public beta 3.
     
  4. onethinline macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    I also noticed that backups aren't happening automatically (plugged in, on Wi-Fi) with Beta 5. I'm able to manually prompt an iCloud backup, and even then it takes longer than usual.
     
  5. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #5
    I'm having the same issue. I manually start an iCloud backup and 10 seconds in it gives me this error:
    [​IMG]
    Any way to fix this?
     
  6. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #6
    When I was on one of the 8 betas and iCloud backup wasn't working, deleting the old backup got it working again.
     
  7. OC513 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I have tried this and get the same error that Zman gets.
     
  8. docal97 macrumors 6502a

    docal97

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southampton
    #8
    Me too. I just noticed the same thing. Haven't completed a backup successfully since June. Doing a backup on Mac to be safe but it is very slow. As long as I have my photos backup up and my contacts, calendars, etc to iCloud I think i'll be ok.
     
  9. imagineadam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #9
    I'd be careful trying to backup iOS 9 betas. I have a phantom backup stuck in my iCloud that I can't delete and it's using up some of my space that I can't get back!
     
  10. joscejrod macrumors 6502

    joscejrod

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #10
    It's impossible for me to complete an icloud backup on my iphone 6+ since I updated to ios 9. On my ipad mini 2 (with ios 9 pb5 too, all is correct)...any fix for this?
     
  11. joscejrod macrumors 6502

    joscejrod

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
  12. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #12
    What did you do?
     
  13. zemaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #13
    I'm also have a phantom backup that can't be deleted and is taking up about 4GB of my space. Has anyone had to deal with this?
     
  14. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #14
    Yes I am.
     
  15. OC513 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    And you're not gonna tell us exactly what you did to fix it?
     
  16. joscejrod macrumors 6502

    joscejrod

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #16
    Sorry, I was working! I disconnected Bluetooth and, I erased the copy with 0kb (I have to push "erase copy" several times, because I got a lot of "unable to erase". Then, I could make the copy!!
     
  17. OC513 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Thanks for the response, unfortunately it didnt work for me.
     

Share This Page