iCloud.com Not Loading/Wifi Sync

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ViPhone, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. ViPhone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I'm trying to do a Wifi Sync, however, it says my Phone synced last night over Wifi when I had it plugged in syncing the new beta iWork suite?

    Curious as to how Wifi-Sync is really supposed to work.

    Also, iCloud.com completely refuses to load for me lately. Any ideas?
     
  2. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    I'm the same I'm confused by wifi sync I've set it up but I get the attached image all the time.... When I huck up my sync cable the Sync Now button becomes active.

    It is also the same when I am plugged in to mains with wifi on
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thunderbunny macrumors 6502a

    thunderbunny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #3
    Have you selected the wi-fi sync option in iTunes while the phone is connected via USB? Do that, then a wired sync and you should be ok.
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    I have but I can't get it working on windows with iTunes beta 4
     
  5. muledogus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #5
    You have to be plugged into a power source for WiFi sync to work.
     
  6. iFiend macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    Please don't answer if you have no idea what you're talking about.

    This is categorically incorrect. I sync mine without being plugged into power all the time.
     
  7. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #7
    If you read what it says in the first paragraph in the picture....

    That was incredibly rude of you.
     
  8. thunderbunny macrumors 6502a

    thunderbunny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #8
    Plugging your device into the power will cause it to do automatic syncs. Manual syncs can be performed at any time. iFiend may have been rude, but was correct.
     
  9. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #9
    However, neither automatic or manual sync was specified. I took it as being that automatic sync wasn't working, nor was manual, but automatic sync -> resolution.
     
  10. iFiend macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #10
    What are you, his body guard?

    If you read what it says in the first paragraph of the picture, it says automatically, not only.

    I also don't really know how I was "rude". If the truth is rude so be it.
     
  11. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    the answer to this was in my post which you quoted.... I get greyed out with or without being plugged into the mains, it will only light up for sync now when I am plugged in to my computer which is kinda against the whole concept of wifi sync lol
     
  12. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #12
    actually, if you read the OP, he does say he's trying to do a manual one and that it automatically did one the previous night...

     
  13. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #13
    Yes, that's correct. Sorry for neglecting this thread for a bit. Forgot haha.

    But yes, please clarify how to do a manual wifi sync. Plugging it into the computer via a USB to sync oddly enough will have the same result as using a wall charger apparently.
     
  14. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #14
    Sorry for the double post. But we're almost close to an answer to this question haha.
     
  15. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #15
    well i just go into itunes wifi sync in the settings menu on the iPhone and do sync now, or in itunes, right click my iPhone or iPad (it's nice having both in there now!) and just dragging stuff into file sharing or just syncing. none are plugged in anywhere.

    You have to make sure that you have "sync over wifi connection" ticked on the summary page for the device and then apply and sync. then when you unplug, it should pick up the device after a couple of minutes (sometimes quicker, sometimes slower). also what's cool is that itunes will autoload up when i a device joins the network :)
     

Share This Page