iCloud find my mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by andste, Nov 21, 2012.

1. andste macrumors newbie

Hello, I am new in mac world so if will be stupid question I am sorry.

I am using OS X Mountain Lion 10.8. There is program iCloud in Settings. I configured program "Find my Mac". And have a question if the mac will be stollen the theft can sign out from my account and i couldnt find my mac throught www.icloud.com web site ? what is the situation ?

Thank you!

2. andste thread starter macrumors newbie

3. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

You are correct. With a default install it is pretty easy for a thief to just disable Find my Mac. The solution is to turn on FileVault2 encryption. This encrypts the drive so nobody can login and turn off Find my Mac and also provides a open "Guest" account at the login screen. The idea is that the thief will use the guest account to get on the Internet and the location of your computer would then be picked up by Find my Mac.

4. switon macrumors 6502a

RE: local law enforcement ...

Hi,

Weaselboy has provided a well-stated solution to not allowing a perpetrator to switch off Find My Mac.

I just wanted to add that it really depends upon your local law enforcement agency as to whether "knowing" where your stolen Mac is located will be any help to you. Some law agencies will act on this information, others will not.

There was a recent case of a person "pinging", meaning the pinging noise á la a submarine's sonar signal (think Hunt for Red October), his computer with law enforcement outside listening to the "pinging" sound. The computer was recovered, but then the perpetrator claimed illegal search. I believe that the judge ruled that this was no different than a parent calling a kidnapped child's name and having the child call out to the parent, so it was not ultimately ruled as an illegal search and seizure. But it was intriguing that initially there was a concern.

Regards,
    Switon