iCloud - Now Live

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by BillyBobBongo, Oct 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BillyBobBongo, Oct 11, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2011

    BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #1
    iCloud is no longer showing as a Beta, with access only for developers, at the iCloud URL. Signing in with your existing MobileMe starts the migration process.

    Edit: of course you'll be needing iOS5 on your device to gain access to it all once you've migrated. Users are warned of this in the final stage before migration.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Off1c3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #2
    Yeah I got so excited, but I tried to log in with my apple ID and it says to activate a device first. I have no iCloud option yet on my Lion macbook pro. :(
     
  3. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Not only does it work with my Lion MBA, but it also works with my SGSII.

    Who knew? :)
     
  4. shurcooL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #4
    Yeah.

    The other components aren't there yet. It links to www.apple.com/icloud/setup/ which is 404. As a non-MobileMe user, I have nothing except find my device activated. And to activate something, I need either 10.7.2 Lion (which isn't out yet) or iOS 5 (not out yet either).
     
  5. Gatteau macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    Okay, so I have no idea how all this work. Is it an app we should get off the App Store, or is it down on iTunes first?
     
  6. modit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I don't get this...

    Do we need an existing Apple ID to get a @me.com email account or can I just sign up for a new email account and new Apple ID at the same time?

    :confused:
     
  7. Gatteau macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    Wondering the same thing. So confused right now..
     
  8. Off1c3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #8
    Exactly whats happening to me. I keep hitting software update every 15 min haha. Probably when I wake up it will be working.
     
  9. shurcooL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #9
    The OP is referring to www.iCloud.com.

    The order is like this: Apple ID -> iCloud Account.

    So you need to create or use an Apple ID to create an iCloud Account.

     
  10. BillyBobBongo thread starter macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #10
    Aye, the last page of the setup process still has 'Beta' mentions on it. It surely can't be long now until they release the upgrades.
     
  11. saccento macrumors 6502a

    saccento

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    set up icloud, sync'd contacts and now my contacts are gone from my iPhone but are on icloud.com any ideas?
     
  12. shurcooL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #12
    See if this helps.

     
  13. Gatteau macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #13
    Yep, still getting 404. Question is, can I setup iCloud on my iPhone before installing iOS5, so that I can restore everything later from my iCloud account?

    If I'm not making sense, just let me know.
     
  14. shurcooL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #14
    No, iCloud will only work on iOS 5.

    What do you want to back up? You can use iTunes Sync/Backup or Google Sync to back up your existing stuff. Also, if you perform an upgrade to iOS 5, your stuff on the iPhone should remain. You don't necessarily have to "restore" it afterwards.
     
  15. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #15
    I used my existing MobileMe credentials. Went smoother than I anticipated.
     
  16. BillyBobBongo thread starter macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #16
    You'll need iOS5 to set it up using an iPhone. You can already migrate an account to iCloud, but then you may not have access to everything (you will of course have access through the browser). I've got an old 3G, which has to be manually synced to get calendars etc for ages, so I can't tell if I've lost functionality there. However, email still works despite being on MobileMe settings.
     
  17. unobtainium macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #17
    iCloud.com is up and running but at the moment it doesn't appear to be syncing anything between my phone and the cloud. I can run a manual backup to the cloud but when I make changes on my calendar they don't get transferred over to the web app. In fact, according to iCloud.com my calendar is completely blank and I only have two contacts. So info isn't actually syncing back and forth yet. Wonder what time they'll fully flip the switch, midnight PST?
     
  18. Anthony.L macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    I just noticed the missing "Beta" from iCloud's site so I tried logging in with my existing MobileMe account. It said I needed to convert and I clicked ok. Took me to MobileMe login which I did and then gave me an error saying MobileMe conversion only available for beta developers right now. I got this same error when iCloud site first went live.

    Guess they still haven't fully turned it on yet....
     
  19. BillyBobBongo thread starter macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #19
    I moved my wife's account (not a developer) last night, and it went smoothly. Perhaps they're currently fooling around with it and making the final changes? Find My Mac is still called Find My iPhone in the web UI.
     
  20. Anthony.L macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  21. Off1c3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #21
    Maybe Midnight PST it will work. 1 more hour for the east coast folk.
     
  22. MCRunning, Oct 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2011

    MCRunning macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
  23. Gatteau macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #23
    Just my contacts.. I thought upgrading to iOS 5 will wipe my phone?
     
  24. Anthony.L macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #24
    That's the exact same error I'm getting.
     
  25. shurcooL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #25
    I'm pretty sure it won't (under normal conditions). I'm sure someone who's already upgraded (i.e. a developer) can confirm. I would back up contacts just in case via Google Sync or some other means.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page