iCloud Photo Library Optimizing Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Davmeister, May 25, 2015.

  1. Davmeister macrumors 6502

    Davmeister

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hello everyone...I have a strange bug with the photos app I'd like fixed.

    Up until recently I had the originals of my photos stored on my mac. But I noticed iCloud photo library had recently de-activated. When trying to re-activate I am told there is not enough space on my mac to keep the photos, and I'm being forced to optimize the storage (which I don't want - I like backing up to Time Machine and other reasons).

    I have 53GB of space on my mac and there aren't any huge uploads from my iPhone into the cloud that can't be downloaded on to my mac. And it was working fine until recently.

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PsyOpWarlord macrumors 6502

    PsyOpWarlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    When you hover over the blue bar "Photos and Videos" at the bottom, how large does it is in the cloud?

    When you go into your your Pictures and right click on your "Photo Library" and get information, how bug is the library on your hard drive?
     
  3. Davmeister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Davmeister

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Hope this helps! Thanks for your input :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. PsyOpWarlord macrumors 6502

    PsyOpWarlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #4
    Not what I was thinking. They are about the same size. I was originally wondering if things were being duplicated in the cloud.

    50GB free is not a lot of free space in todays terms. I wonder if Apple has a set minimum HD space available limit to allow the full uncompressed files to prevent the Photos app from consuming the last available space HD space for swap files and such or slowing the performance.
     
  5. Davmeister thread starter macrumors 6502

    Davmeister

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I am running the betas, so that was my thought too, a new 'feature'. Will wait and see!
     

Share This Page