Icon bug on iPhone 3G S - has anyone else noticed this?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by medgirl2001, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. medgirl2001 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I have an iPhone 3G S. I bought The Sims 3. After the first sync, it showed another icon for an app that I have but am not currently syncing on the phone. So I removed The Sims from the phone and re-synced, then installed it again. It then appeared correctly. I then re-booted the phone, but it then appeared as an entirely different icon (for another app I have but am not syncing currently). The only way to make it appear correctly is to delete it from the phone and sync, but then I can not reboot the phone again or the icons will again switch.

    Has anyone else noticed this? This is obviously a bug. How do I report it to Apple?
     
  2. McIceT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #2
    Yes, I've experienced exactly the same with my iPhone 3G S today... this happend to me, when I rebooted my iPhone... there are several apps, which dont even have a logo at all... (Goldminer) also there are some logos which are a little darker now... (Grandlight ,Shazam)... and as you can see a lot of these app's logos don't match with the app it self (Grand Lite, Rain Stick, Wi-Fi Finder, Shazam and show...)

    (See attachment for screenshot)

    BTW: the programs still work the same as before... its just the logo, thats wrong...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rm2092 macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #3
    remove all the apps from Itunes then re sync and that should fix it, it worked for me.
     
  4. medgirl2001 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Do you mean remove all the apps from the phone? Or iTunes and then redownload them? Have you tried rebooting since then? I have read some people saying they deleted the apps from their phone and reinstalled them, which worked temporarily, but then the problem came back after rebooting.
     
  5. theroamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
  6. medgirl2001 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, looks like it still doesn't survive a reset of the phone. I have found that syncing/unsyncing the problem app fixes it for me (only of the one app, don't have to do all of them), but a reset just brings it back. That's a pain, because you lose all the data in the app. I don't reset my phone a lot, but it comes up from time to time.
     
  7. McIceT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #7
    Thanks... I fixed it already... it's just a bit of a let down, to see the new iPhone with such a stupid bug...
    but it doesn't matter, I'm going to update to purplera1n soon anyway :p;)
     
  8. MadDog31 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #8
    Keep in mind this erases all of your app data, so any saved games, etc. will be gone.

    Just did that, now I have to work my way back up to regional manager in SkyBurger. :(
     

Share This Page