ICON CHANGE: How to go about it?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mivara, Dec 13, 2015.

  1. mivara macrumors regular

    mivara

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I hate default icons but it's been a struggle to change them to some custom ones properly in El Capitan.

    DOWNLOADED APPS

    Sure, I can change icons for apps that I've downloaded the old way: Open the 'info' tab of the app and copy/paste the new icon onto it. But the change doesn't last. This morning, Tweetbot, for instance, went back to it's old icon all by itself. It happens every time an app updates through App Store. Then I have to manually change it to my custom icon once more. Is there anything that can be done about that?

    STOCK APPS (and Finder + Dashboard)

    Once upon a time, I could change icons on Safari, Finder etc. by using CandyBar but that doesn't work anymore and I can't use the copy/paste method for these system apps/whatever they are. Or can I?
     
  2. Kornelis, Dec 13, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2015

    Kornelis macrumors member

    Kornelis

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #2
    With downloaded Apps it is unavoidable that you have to change them again, a new version of the programme is installed including the icons. For some applications like Dropbox, and maybe also Tweetbot, you must change the icons in the App bundle also or else the program is changing back it's icon to the original one.

    For system icons you first have to disable System Integrity Protection (SIP), install the new icons (most of them are at the same place as Yosemite) and then enable SIP again. For Safari you have to do this for each new version.
     
  3. Jess13, Dec 13, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2015

    Jess13 Suspended

    Jess13

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #3
    SIP: Finder + Dashboard + Generic Folders, etc.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...o-change-default-system-folder-icons.1925539/

    For icons that change/revert automatically, such as Google Chrome, you have to replace the icon found in the app's Show Package Contents.

    In the applications folder, find the app and right-click:

    Show Package Contents > Contents > Resources

    Replace the default icns with the icns you want to use, titled the same as the default. Then open the new icns Get Info panel (right-click Get Info, or Command-I) and select General > Locked.

    The icon shouldn't change again, my Chrome icon hasn't since July.

    MR .png
     
  4. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    try lite icon, i used it to change the default system folders (all of them), some dock icons, app icons...
     
  5. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #5
    I installed Liteicon, but every time I open it, it tells me icons not found, use blank/replace original. There doesn't seem to be any way around it.

    Also, the instructions are rubbish. "Just drag it to its icon." It what? Can someone who has had any luck with this app help?
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    did you disable SIP? you drag the icon you want to use (from wherever you have it, ie a folder of icons), over the icon you want to replace...
     
  7. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #7
    I thought the whole point of using liteicon was that you didn't have to disable SIP or do anything in settings.
     
  8. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    i think you have to disable SIP (which you re-enable after the changes) to change ANYTHING in the system (ie default icons for folders, apple app icons (like safari), dock icons. make those changes, then reboot & re-enable SIP...and all is right with the world... :D
     
  9. Jess13 Suspended

    Jess13

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #9
    You have to disable SIP, for Apple-made and system apps, etc. It isn't difficult, but if you have an HDD instead of SSD, it is more time-consuming. If you have a MacBook Air or retina Pro, for example, those both have SSDs and it isn't really a hassle. I have created a simple tutorial for this:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...o-change-default-system-folder-icons.1925539/
     
  10. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #10
    how is it more time-consuming on an HDD? you mean the whole process will take minutes longer? it's not a big deal...
     
  11. Jess13 Suspended

    Jess13

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #11
    Yes it is minutes longer. If you have an HDD, try it. Irritating.
     
  12. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #12
    haven't we already been thru this on another thread? :rolleyes: most people will change their icons, and get on with it. only you seem to need to do several times a day...so the price you pay is dealing with those extra minutes. for anyone else, once it's done, it's done.
     
  13. mivara thread starter macrumors regular

    mivara

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    That guide worked like a dream! Thanks :)
     
  14. Jess13 Suspended

    Jess13

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #14
    You're welcome. :)
     
  15. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #15
    jess13, just checked out your guide. exceptional! will send that on to a friend just getting into el capitan... thanx.
     
  16. Jess13, Dec 17, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2015

    Jess13 Suspended

    Jess13

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #16
    Thank you. :) It isn't perfect, but I tried to make it as simple-and detailed-as I could. I made it primarily for those who, like your friend, are just getting into El Cap or Mac OS X in general.

    It wasn't made for pro users, though pro users might find the Cascade sets very useful.
     

Share This Page