Icons "stuck"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mkrad, Dec 13, 2008.

  1. mkrad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #1
    I cannot drag any icons by any means, mouse, keyboard or otherwise.

    Is there some setting I accidentally activated that "tacks" everything down?

    This obviously causes problems for installing any new software that employs a click-hold-drag install. Also, I cannot manipulate any photos, documents, etc. for simple movement to folders (Save as... still works, tho).

    MK
     
  2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  3. eji macrumors 6502

    eji

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    #3
    Yeah, this is something I often encounter after running VMware Fusion. It's a Finder bug. A restart will clear it up.

    I keep hoping it'll get fixed in the next Leopard update. And then the next, and then the next...
     
  4. mkrad thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #4
    No go...

    Multiple restarts, starting in safe mode, using different I/O devices (trackpad, bluetooth, USB mice) tried to no avail... I should add, this happened on a Nov '08 MacBook 13" following application of latest 1.3 and SMC firmware updates. I have called apple support got to tier 2, and they kicked it up to engineering. I have an external bootable backup and when I option-boot to that drive, the click-drag works fine.

    Support has given me the old "might have to archive and reinstall" business, but I am holding out for a simpler solution, as that would require about a day's worth of other software reinstalls.
     
  5. eji macrumors 6502

    eji

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    #5
    I just re-checked this thread after the "stuck icon" bug hit me again –– and Fusion hadn't been run in days.

    Sorry to hear that it's more serious than a restart, mkrad. Even though I hadn't run fusion, a restart cleared it up again for me.

    Here's hoping 10.5.6 will solve it once and for all!
     

Share This Page