I'd love to buy an 27" iMac but... which one?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by henry72, Sep 10, 2011.

?

Which 27" iMac should I get?

  1. 27" i5 2.7GHz, 1TB HDD (Base model)

    7 vote(s)
    25.9%
  2. 27" i5 2.7GHz, 256GB Apple SSD (CTO model)

    2 vote(s)
    7.4%
  3. 27" i7 3.4GH,z 6970M 2GB GDDR5, 1TB HDD (CTO model)

    18 vote(s)
    66.7%
  1. henry72, Sep 10, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011

    henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I've sold my MacBook Air to one of my mate and I'm very keen for an iMac.

    1. Do you guys think the next update will be release soon and have a new design? If it is I think is worth the wait.

    2. Anyone had an issue with the screen and be able to replace a new one until it's perfect without any problems? I'm very concern about the screen.

    3. If I'm going to get one, which one shpuld I get?

    I will be using Aperture and Handbreak mainly and I will upgrade it to 16GB of RAM by myself :) (Any suggestion?) I'm thinking about the base model to save some money. Is the base model enough for my needs?

    4. Also, I heard there is another issues if the user swap a new HDD/SSD inside, the fan will go crazy?

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. obsidian1200 macrumors 6502

    obsidian1200

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #2
    Well just know that you'll be waiting for a while until new new iMacs are released (the current ones aren't even 3 months old yet). If you think you can survive without a computer/desktop computer until the next refresh (I think rumors think this'll happen when ivy bridge chips are released?), then by all means hold out.

    Also, the case you pointed to is a special case, or at least it's the only one to make it on these forums. Yes, screen issues do occur, but Apple will replace the panel, no questions, aside from warranty information, asked. The screen issues will only change once the manufacturer of the screen (not Apple) changes the designs of the screens, or when Apple changes manufacturers.
     
  3. jsolares macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #3
    Well you could always return it if the display has that issue.

    Yeah they're probably getting refreshed in May again if Intels release schedule holds, not sure why they would do a redesign just yet tho.

    It not the only one tho, someone else said they had 4 different displays with that issue and finally settled on one still with the issue but less prominent than the others.
     
  4. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Thanks for your reply. I might just go to the store and check it out :)
    I gotta have one by next year :(

    ----------

    Cheers. Next year in May is too far away, I can't wait for that long unfortunately. I think I will just get the current one maybe?
     
  5. meli macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    #5
    The good thing about buying an iMac now is that you know what potential flaws to look for. If there's redesign, in a sense, that's a bad thing. Some people say never buy a Rev. A model.
     
  6. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #6
    ya know you could buy a nice used imac on cl...
     
  7. henry72, Sep 10, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011

    henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Thanks. That make sense :)

    ----------

    Cheers. I would prefer a new one because I will be using for at least 3 years.

    ----------

    Does anyone know if I use Aperture a lot, should I get the

    1. Top 27" with 2GB Graphic, i7 3.4GHz (I can't afford a SSD for this one)
    2. Lower 27" i5 2.7GHz + Apple 256GB SSD?

    I heard there is another issues if the user swap a new HDD/SSD inside, the fan will go crazy?? :eek:
     
  8. malias4 macrumors 6502a

    malias4

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Greece and Holland
    #8
    i d suggest you to buy one now, i did yesterday and its gonna be here in a few days..
    Waiting til april or may was really long for me..:apple:

    If it waw for 2 0r 3 months ok but till nxt year it dont worth it i think..
     
  9. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Yea I think I will get it soon. Now I'm thinking between the lower and the top 27" iMac. Not too sure which one is the best for me. Thanks!

    PS: Which one have you got by the way?
     
  10. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Thanks a lot :D

    That's really really helpful for me :) Now I've some idea on what I'm going to get now. I think better GPU and CPU is worth the money than a SSD for now :)
     
  11. gage006 macrumors regular

    gage006

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #12
    You could always put in the SSD later, but it's going to be MUCH harder (maybe even impossible) to upgrade the CPU/GPU later. Choose the CPU/GPU upgrade if you can only do one.
     
  12. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Thanks for your advice :)
     
  13. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    Is just to do with import and export? What about editing photos like adjustment and that sort of stuff? Thanks
     
  14. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #15
    Aperture uses the GPU, so always the better GPU helps there.

    I tend to like the info the guys over at the mac forum on dpreview.com have to share. I think there is a photography forum here on MacRumors, and you might get more info there too.

    I'd probably go high end and save up for an external thunderbolt SSD. Of course, my MBP is now 4 years old and I think the i5 GPU is a step up (I have the 17" late 06 so it has a dedicated GPU) from where i am.

    Of course, it is always easy to spend other people's money!
     
  15. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    Thanks for your input. I will have a look :)
     
  16. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    Can you guys explain why you choose that? Thanks :)
     
  17. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    I'm not thinking of getting the SSD version anymore, but I'm still not quite sure between the base line model and the top of the line :confused:

    I mean everyone is going to say the top of the line one, but do I really need that power? I wish I know what kind of hardware do I need.
     
  18. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    Seems like the top of the line is winning. :confused:
    Anyone have any RAM suggestion? Kingston?

    Cheers
     
  19. bushman4 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #20
    Perhaps the Poll looks swayed as you left off an important choice:

    27" i5 2.7GHz, 256GB Apple SSD + 1TB HDD


    Actually your choice of just a 256 GB SSD is not something many people would order to begin with.
     
  20. bungiefan89 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #21
    If you're going to get the 27", go big. Future-proof the machine. I've got the upgraded V-RAM and processor, and this computer screams with power under the hood.

    ----------

    Pro tip: don't buy the RAM from Apple. They over-charge like crazy on their RAM. You can get it almost half price if you buy 3rd party stuff and just install it yourself (which is easy).

    Furthermore... unless you're doing SUPER intense processing and you can't afford to wait for anything, the default 4 GB of RAM should be plenty to begin with. Upgrade later if you feel you really need it.

    As for the V-RAM, like I said, future-proof the machine.
     
  21. henry72 thread starter macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #22
    Since I'm used to only 128GB on my MacBook Air, every things is on my external hard drive. I want the speed as well :)

    ----------

    Thanks for your advice. Regarding to the RAM, I'll not upgrade it from Apple because it is the most easiest hardware to upgrade :D and yea it's way too expensive

    However, what brand would you suggest? Kingston?
     

Share This Page