IDE Input Broken?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by faroZ06, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. faroZ06, Jul 19, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012

    faroZ06 macrumors 68040

    faroZ06

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #1
    My 2008 Mac Pro has issues with the optical drives. When I first got it, it was fine, but I unplugged the IDE cables from the superdrive and plugged them back in, and now my computer can't detect it. The drive receives power, but the computer does not see it under IDE. Yes, I plugged the "top" IDE cable into it and the "top" power cord.

    I also bought a used DVD-RW drive because I thought the superdrive was broken, which wouldn't be surprising since Apple really, really sucks with optical drives. Same thing. It receives power and can eject when I press the button, but the computer does not see it when I go to the ATA section in System Profile.

    I might have unplugged the first one while the computer was on, if that would make any difference. I made sure that the cables were very secure, of course. Is this happening to anyone else? Searching on Google only gives me results about some new user who doesn't know how to open the optical drive on a MacBook Pro.

    UPDATE: OK, it seems that it has suddenly decided to start working. However, the superdrive works ONLY when the second optical drive is NOT connected. Even then, it doesn't always work. What is going on? I kinda want the second optical drive :(
     
  2. d-m-a-x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #2
    Sounds like a Master / Slave issue. There is a little pinout in the back with a slug. They need to be configured properly on the bus - i think the drive on top need to be master and the one on the bottom slave. Get em working and go listen to some depeche mode
     
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    As above, you have three options with the drives:

    1) Slave

    2) Master

    3) Cable Select.

    Set the first drive to master using the small jumper top short the appropriate pins (refer to the manual that came with the opticals)

    Set the second drive to slave.

    At present they are fighting each other for use of the IDE bus.
     
  4. faroZ06, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012

    faroZ06 thread starter macrumors 68040

    faroZ06

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #4
    This sounds like the fix for this problem, but for future reference, is it OK to change these things while the computer is running? I've done it plenty of times on an old Dell, but now the stakes are higher. Anyway, I'll try this while it's off now.

    UPDATE: This worked! Thanks. One more problem, though. I can't detach the bezel from the front of the drive even though I followed a video tutorial. I guess you can't really help me with that, and I'll keep trying until I get it off.
     
  5. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
    Ummm, I guess my question is why would you?..... Is it really that big of a deal to lose 2 minutes for shut down and reboot times?
     
  6. faroZ06 thread starter macrumors 68040

    faroZ06

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #6
    Why do that when I can do it while it's on? Shutting down and booting up frequently is not good for the computer.
     
  7. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    It isn't like we are telling you to reboot over and over again (I want to see a link to a real article from a trusted source that states rebooting is bad for your computer because everything I have read says this is a falsehood), and another thing your IDE devices are given their Master/Slave designation at boot so if they weren't designated right (which is your problem) then if you don't reboot it isn't going to fix it.....
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Frequently? How often do you plan on swapping master/slave/cableselect?

    Besides, working on a computer while it is on can cause a short and real damage, ASK ME HOW I KNOW.
     
  9. d-m-a-x, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012

    d-m-a-x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #9
    you mean Ide jumper pins are not hot swapable?? jeez, i want my money back
     
  10. faroZ06 thread starter macrumors 68040

    faroZ06

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #10
    I finally fixed the designation, which I had previously forgotten about, but the front bezel is now stuck on the second drive. I'm just saying that, in general, I typically fix something then realize one little problem then fix that then realize another problem.

    For example, when I was trying to analyze the problem, I had to reboot so many times because I had to check to see which combinations of IDE connections worked and whether it was hardware or software related. I have 3 bootable partitions, not including backups and restore partitions. Oh, and it seemed to sometimes not work then start working after a bootup, which added the factor of slight randomness, which made it harder. I don't want to reboot every time I readjust the IDE cables, and my guess at the time was that the cables were loose or something.

    As for the power on/off thing, the manual for a hard drive enclosure I bought said that power cycles (turning on and off) can reduce the life of the hard drive. I am guessing that the first thing that will break on my Mac Pro eventually will be the hard drives, but newer and better ones will be cheap as long as the hard drives last their intended duration.

    ----------

    I am very careful about that. I had a power cable plugged into the wall that was supposed to lead to a power adapter, but the brick was not on there, so there were just the two holes. Despite the rubber shielding around the holes, my cousin managed to fry my mic when she lightly touched the prongs on it to the power cable, and a fuse switch triggered, cutting off power to the room, confusing the light dimmers.... What a mess.

    ----------

    I am fairly sure that they are, but I'm just being careful.

    ----------

    Alright, I can see this thread heading towards the death pit of off-topic-ness, so I'm going to stop talking about IDE hotswapping.
     
  11. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #11
    No IDE is not hot swappable. Please do not spread falsehoods. People search these forums for help and these sorts of untruths could cause someone to fry their computer.

    You clearly doubt those with more experience so I present you with a Wikipedia link:
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_ATA#section_4
     

Share This Page