Ideal computing setup?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Droid13, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Droid13 macrumors regular

Dear All,

Please accept my apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

I am a keen photographer and make heavy use of my Nikon D300, with file output being either 12-bit lossless compressed or 14-bit NEF. I have noticed over the last year that editing these images on my May 2007 MacBook has become a pain - in particular, it takes quite a while for a change I make to be reflected on screen. It really has taken a lot of the fun out of the hobby and while I have changed the way I use my camera to minimise the need for a digital darkroom, I cannot eliminate the need entirely.

What I would like is a desktop system that can effortlessly process images - at some point in the future I expect to upgrade to a higher resolution body and acquire the upcoming edition of photoshop, so I would like a system that could handle quite a bit.

There is no particular budget in mind and I am in no hurry to buy anything. I was thinking along the lines of a 27" iMac but would appreciate further advice and recommendations, particularly on things like displays and storage solutions.

Thank you for your help.

Regards,
    Droid13

2. WRP macrumors 6502a

You have a 5 year old consumer laptop. You could get pretty much anything new and be fine dealing with images from your D300 and even something with a bigger sensor.

A MBP will be fine if you want the portability, just up the RAM. A iMac will be fine for a "desktop" just up the RAM. A Mac Pro is overkill but don't let me stop you from getting one.

My ex used to process medium format which is much bigger than anything you will shoot on a MBP with zero problems.

3. driftless macrumors demi-god

driftless

I happen to use an iMac. I just want to echo the previous post and make sure you have 8 GB of RAM or more.

- David

4. OreoCookie macrumors 68030