Ideal MBA Model for University Student

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by B.Chang, Aug 12, 2011.

1. B.Chang macrumors member

Hello

I have recently decided that it would be beneficial for me to acquire a MBA since I am a commuting university student and need to bring my computer with me for classes and lab.

I currently have a mid 2010 15" MBP, but this is rather heavy since I commute by bicycle and have notebooks and some books as well.

I have read many threads and articles online about comparing 13" with 11" and I am very split. My main concern is that although the MBA will be my "second" computer, it will still be my main computer when I am on campus and sometimes I will need to work very late in my lab.

My main concerns are the battery life on the 11" as well as how feasible it is to work on MS Office files and run Matlab on it, as those are the main program I will be using. I will also be doing some programming using Eclipse.

Will I be able to multitask well between documents and browsers?

I know the 13" overall seems to be more capable than the 11", but my current initial impression is that it would be better to get the 11" due to the fact I already have a 15" MBP. I was hoping for some input from the community in this matter, hopefully from people with firsthand experience.

Price is not a concern since I have been allocated significant funds for a new laptop by my scholarship.

Thank you for any replies.

2. NicoleRichie macrumors 6502

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

11" and an external at home. If no external 13"

3. B.Chang thread starter macrumors member

When you say external do you mean external hard drive or display?

4. NicoleRichie macrumors 6502