Ideal VM Ware Fusion Settings

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TheYankees1903, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. TheYankees1903 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #1
    I have a Penryn Macbook that is:
    2.4 Ghz Dual Core CPU
    2 GB RAM
    160 GB 5400 RPM Hard Drive

    I am running VM Ware Fusion which allows me to run Windows XP within my Leopard Operating System.

    I do however need help choosing my ideal VM Ware Fusion settings for:
    Battery
    Display (3D Acceleration)
    Memory
    Processors (1 or 2 Virtual Processors)

    What do you guys recommend?

    Please Help,
    TheYankees1903 :apple:
     
  2. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #2

    what apps are u going to be using in Windows?
     
  3. TheYankees1903 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #3
    I Plan To Use...

    I plan to use:
    Office
    Photoshop
    Quickbooks
    Some Video Games (Not Graphical Powerhouse Games)
    etc.

    What settings should I use?

    Please Help,
    TheYankees1903 :apple:
     
  4. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    If you are going to be running virtual machines very often you need to consider upgrading to 4GB of RAM.

    As far as settings for what you will be doingwith what you got...

    Battery - Do not pass the host power supply status to the guest
    Display - Enable 3D acceleration
    Memory - 1GB (Ideally you should upgrade to 4GB of RAM and set this at 2GB)
    Processors - 1

    I also like to go into the BIOS and disable the 3.5" floppy drive along with all the peripherals.
     
  5. bking1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #5
    If you are still around, a couple of questions -- why only 1 processor? Also, why disable the 3.5" etc in the BIOS? Is it a performance issue?

    Final question -- if I had an older iMac that only goes to 3GB, is that sufficient to run VMWare for Quicken, and still have a reasonable Mac experience when VMWare is running?
     
  6. Macloven macrumors regular

    Macloven

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #6

    why wouldn't you want to pass the power supply status through? I've used that setting without a problem (I think) but if there's an advantage to shutting it off, I'll give it a try.

    Makr
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Battery: Pass it on, doesn't matter.
    Display: 3D Acceleration on.
    Memory: 512MB
    Processors: 1
     

Share This Page