Ideas/Tips

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by N16K NE, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. N16K NE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    www.grapevine-design.org

    Created this site for my SME Graphic Design/Photography company...please let me know any tips/ideas etc.

    I'd love to get rollovers on all the links, but do not know how - as VERY basic webskills...(as you may be able to guess...iWeb)

    Cheers,

    Nick
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    It says site is under construction. I think you forgot to upload.
     
  3. N16K NE thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #3
    My bad - is uploaded now without holding page.

    Cheers for that.

    Nick.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    -Why is there a blank space in the middle of your navigation menu?

    -The logo is weird on the main page; the shadowed box ("Where a dream design...") overlaps with the divider to the right of it.

    -Im not sure what you're trying to achieve with the hyperlinked pictures in that main box there. Either make them more obvious as links or just have them as images.
     
  5. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #5
    I don't like the splash screen, didn't even click to get in..
     
  6. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #6
    QFT.

    My first two thoughts were:
    What's with the huge space and the font.

    I am not a large fan of the font, but the overlap was noticeable. I feel that the design has some great aspects, but then there are some parts I don't like as well.

    Additional, the reflection of the logo is awkward, perhaps move the logo to the bottom where the reflection would seem more fitting? (When the page was loading, the reflection hadn't loaded - iThink I like that better) The navigation bar boxes seem to be of different spacings - for example "Services" seems much higher up then "Testimonials" or "Contact Us" The pictures just seem awkward - my first thought on them was "Google Images?"

    I do like the design of the website, those are just my thoughts.

    Keep the simplicity - maybe reduce the clutter.
     
  7. astroot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #7
    It looks decent, but the frames need to go. Since you said you have basic web skills, I guess I can forgive you.

    I'd also say that the splash screen needs to go. I always ask myself, "what does this actually accomplish?" when dealing with web "frills" and if I have no good reason, I don't use it.
     
  8. N16K NE thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #8
    Hi

    Cheers for your feedback..

    The space between the navigation menus was thought to break up the portfolio and the details behind the business.

    With regard to the overlapping...I'm not sure what you mean...on my screen it doesn't over lap? Perhaps take a screen shot...and explain what internet provider/system you are viewing on? Thanks.

    The hyperlinked images are just another way to get the users into the profile- nothing else than that.

    Please comment on the 'huge space' and the 'font' - what do you think could be better with both? Again, please comment on the 'overlap' I cannot see any??

    I can see what you mean with Testimonials...I can assure you everything on my site is not a Google rip-off. I'll attend to those button font/button alignment tomorrow.

    Please comment on the "splash screen" Do you mean the intro screen? I have got rid of this now, as it was more of a design angle, rather than a purpose angle.

    What do you mean by "frames"? As you so rightly picked up on - MEGA newbie in web design..just using this as a profile builder and WOM site to access.

    Thank you for your positive words, and your feedback,

    Nick
     
  9. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #9
    Hey Nick,

    The image that is attached shows the "overlap." On further examination, they are not touching, but we are talking about pixels? My first thought was that they were touching, so overlap might not be the right word. I personally think that the shadow just doesn't look good, but that's just an opinion.

    Like I said earlier, I definitely like what you have presented, some cleaning up would turn it into a great looking site, especially for a "beginner."

    If you keep iWeb simple, you can do some clean things. Here's an example of a website I did. I know little, but just followed the keep it simple approach and clearly had just watched Helvetica.

    Perhaps on the Portfolio, use iWeb's gallery feature?
     
  10. astroot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #10
    Hey Nick,

    When I referenced the frames, I was referring to any code that starts with <frame .... >

    Basically, when you are navigating through your site, if you look at the browser address bar, you'll see that it still displays http://www.grapevine-design.org rather than http://web.mac.com/nick_neddy/Grapevine-Design/Contact_Us_.html which is what address of your contact page really is. Did you want to set it up this way so that your mac.com link is not displayed in the address bar?

    I've honestly never used iWeb, so I can't really comment on that app. I use Coda and Espresso for my web development, mainly because I like hand coding things. Maybe iWeb likes using frames? Don't know.

    Another suggestion is to do away with the "Home" button, and make your header image the home link.

    Good luck and we'll be glad to help you out as you progress.
     
  11. N16K NE thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #11
    Hi,

    Thanks for your input into Frames. I have "masked" on my domain provider, however some pages open up a pop-up and give my user mac ID? How do i get around this???

    Cheers,

    Nick.
     

Share This Page