Identity Theft on Mac---PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sportsfan1234, Apr 28, 2011.

1. sportsfan1234 macrumors member

I recently purchased my MBP this past august. It is my first Mac and Im a newb. A big part of the reason I decided to make the switch over to mac is because of viruses/spyware etc... I was told that Macs are extremely secure computers and even if your computer were to download a virus/trjoan, your mac wouldnt be able to read/interpret it, and therefore you would be immune to it...

With that said... I just received a phone call from my bank saying that a purchase of over $300 was attempted from a foreign country. This was clearly not me, and someone obviously has stolen my card number, which they got online. I do make purchases online but almost always though paypal.....

What could have happened ?!??!? Can hackers/identity theft ppl still steal your credit card numbers even if you are using a mac ??? If so, are there any recommendations to avoid this happening again....( ex. lifelock ??)

ALL ADVICE IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

You were told wrong. Macs are not immune to malware. There has never been a virus in the wild that affects Mac OS X since it was released 10 years ago. The handful of trojans that exist can be easily avoided with some education and common sense and care in what software you install:
    There are a number of ways to steal your credit card info, without accessing your Mac. Why would you assume it came from malware on your Mac?

3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

You wouldn't happen to own a Sony PS3, would you?

4. henry2 macrumors regular

henry2

it came up last night at the dinner table about them beening hacked and i saw my oldest son PS3 unplugged and setting on desk ..