Idiocy at its finest

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Mar 7, 2015.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    While trying to repaste and reinstall the cpu from a Quicksilver I busted off this cap from the cpu board. The Mac seems to boot and function just as well as it did before. Any thoughts on what will happen to it in the future? Have I crippled the Mac and will now need a new cpu?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #2
    If it works fine i wouldn't worry. I snapped off a cap on my MDD motherboard and it worked just fine (or maybe it was the reason the ATA100 Bus died) either way, It should be simple to just solder back on. Since they are surface mount (and if you have no skill in soldering surface mount) just take some small wire (speaker wire or wire from a dead PSU is fine) solder one end of the 2 pieces of wire to the + and - of the cap than solder the other end of the wires to the CPU board where it came off. Make sure to check other caps on the CPU board to make sure you put it on correctly. The purple line on the cap is the + side (atleast on a MDD).
    .
     
  3. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #3
    I actually busted off a capacitor on a Early 05 2.7 logic board, hot glued it back on and still runs to this day!
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Typical Gavin Stubbs repair job...

    :D
     
  5. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for all the responses. For now I tested it and have it packed away for a future repair. Never soldered in my life and think it will be interesting to give it a try. Had to clear out some space in my place (too many macs currently) so it is in storage until further notice.
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    I knocked a cap off a DA logic board and it hasn't caused any problems I've seen yet. I've been meaning to solder it back on, but haven't gotten around to it.

    I do my best to be careful, but I think it's something every who plays with old computer will probably do at some point or another.
     
  7. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #7
    If you are going to solder then I suggest you practice first and use some fan to blow the fumes away from you.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Well…let's see.

    Excluding my youth but within the last 15 years…

    • Soldered a video board back on to an old Amiga monitor so video would work again. The soldering fried the audio portion.
    • Bricked a PC by flashing the wrong BIOS.
    • Went to work on the electrical system on my car, did not disconnect the battery and was wearing my gold wedding ring at the time. Let's just say my ring got real, real hot at one point and the etching inside got deeper!
    • Broke off some part just by handling the board within two minutes of opening my then brand new 9800 Pro.
    • Did not pull the power plug on my Quicksilver when removing cards and was using a metal screwdriver. Caused an electrical arc from the screwdriver straight into the old 9200 Pro video card I used to have. It died a few days later.

    This is just off the top of my head.

    Yeah, I'm in that camp. :D
     
  9. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #9
    Did some one say Electrical Miss haps? while my Pic isn't a Miss hap its what happens when I have a Light Bulb that I am desperate to light but don't have the proper control gear for (and if any one asks yes I know what I am doing) LOL! (a Bit Like getting a Mac but finding out you don't Have the right PSU for it so you hack ur own) I have had my fair share of Bangs pops and Tripped breakers tho :p
     

    Attached Files:

  10. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #10
    yeah that's living.

    imagine those mishaps while working in tube curcuitry. oh joy
     
  11. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #11
    Been there! I most work on my MDD all the time with the power on (plugged in) (nothing bad happened yet!) I do plan to do alot of work on my car's electrical by putting in LEDs thanks for the tip (even thought I hate the idea of disconnecting the battery)
     
  12. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    Tube plate voltages can get scary.

    I've never gotten into collecting Radios in any serious way, but do have a few. After stumbling across a few Zeniths, I've developed somewhat of an interest in them(although not serious, as they get pricey and take up a lot of space). I appreciate quality, and the first Zenith chassis I pulled out made my jaw drop compared to its contemporary Philcos and the like.

    In any case, one of my "prizes" is a late 1950s Trans-Oceanic. Like all of the tube Trans-Oceanics, it's designed to run on either battery power or line power. Unfortunately, mine is missing an impossible-to-find tube(or probably more correctly, a very expensive tube) that is actually just a big ballast resistor in the rectifier circuit. Running the radio on battery power bypasses that part of the circuitry.

    Of course, radio batteries are no longer made, but there are ways to improvise. The Trans-Oceanic needs 9V for the filaments, and 90V for the plates. So, with that in mind, I built my own battery pack by using 10 9V batteries in series(just snapped + to -) for the plates, and 6 D cell batteries in series for the filaments. It works perfectly, and turns on instantly(there's no perceptible warm-up time). Still, though, 90V DC actually scares me a fair bit more than 120V AC.
     
  13. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #13
    have you tired Tube replacers? Its a doohinkus that plugs in where a Tube goes bit isnt a tube at all
     
  14. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    I don't see a lot of point in going to the trouble. It works incredibly well on battery power, and I suspect that the lack of AC line "noise" that would inevitably come from the rectifier would hurt the shortwave reception. The commercial replacements I've seen for this tube are nearly as expensive as the tube, although admittedly I could probably build one myself without a huge amount of trouble.

    The Trans-Oceanic was really always a battery radio that could also be run on line power.
     
  15. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #15
    My grandpa has a Tube replacer. It's for a TV but im sure it would work. If i can find it i can send it to you
     
  16. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    That's nothing! This one guy rabidz7...
     
  17. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #17
    who's radibz7?
     
  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #18
    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!

    And his other incarnations where he's 'surprised' that we find him out so quickly.

    Don't think he's ever caught on to the fact that 'overclocking' a G5 or a Powerbook, or putting a G5 chip in something it was never designed for is the tip off. :D
     
  19. Imixmuan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
  20. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #20
    His problem is Intell keeps poking logical holes in his fanciful ideas. Well, that and the fact that the mods usually catch him out pretty fast. :D
     
  21. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #21
    Oh I saw his profile

    Why is he banned?

    I've seen many people banned from MacRumors but I see no reason why. When I look at their posts they look fine.
     
  22. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    This is not one of those cases. His posts were the antithesis of fine.
     
  23. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #23
    Oh so he was banned because all of his posts were idiotic?
     
  24. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    It would be like going on the Garmin or TomTom forum and talking non-stop about how you rigged your sat nav to work on multiple planets, in another dimension.

    Even honest stupidity can get to the point of trolling.
     
  25. eyoungren, Mar 9, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2015

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #25
    Personally, I think it was that and something else.

    Yes, his posts were annoying and borderline disruptive, but there was probably something else that just threw it over the edge. What that would have been, only the mods know. We can only speculate. I would imagine though that it was probably some sort of acrimony between other users that spilled out into a thread somewhere.

    Posts like that tend to get deleted though. However, do it enough times and the mods pull out the ban hammer.
     

Share This Page