iDVD Question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Go4EVA!, Nov 17, 2008.

1. Go4EVA! macrumors newbie

Go4EVA!

I am a Mac newbie with a strong interest in photography apps. I recently created an iPhoto slideshow, exported it to iDVD, and successfully burned it off - so far, so good.

My problem/question is that I noticed a HUGE reduction in image quality on the final DVD product.:( My original photos were shot with a digital SLR camera at max resolution -- approx 5-7MB per image. The slideshow looks great in iPhoto, but looks really lousy on the burned DVD. Am I doing something wrong? Is there some way to adjust the resolution in iDVD, or is this just the nature of the beast? Is there a "better" Mac application that will allow me to produce high-quality DVDs?

Thanks much!

2. qwerty2k macrumors regular

Hi,

I believe in the project settings of idvd you set the quality, most likely its at the lowest (as it is by default) then there is 'best' and then 'professional' so i would just select either of them and they should look tonnes better.

3. Go4EVA! thread starter macrumors newbie

Go4EVA!

Thanks for the quick reply -- but I must confess that I'm having problems finding the *project settings* you describe.

I probably should have mentioned that I'm a Mac newbie with a computer that is a couple years old (it was given to me) -- so I'm using iDVD 5.0 Will that make a difference?

(I'm in the market for a new Mac, but waiting for Black Friday and/or Christmas sales, if any....)

4. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

i can't tell you exactly how to get to the settings, but i know it is something like this....

Menu item (not sure which one), just try all of them in the menu bar at the top.
    Below on of those menu items is "Project Info" i think. From there you can switch between Professional Quality, High, and Good.

5. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

John Doe 57

I HATE iDVD!!!!