IE only showing up background!

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by tominated, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #1
    I have a problem that I have to fix quickly so I can get a website up (i need to expand my portfolio so I can get a job here). IE (both 6 and 7) only show up the background of my website. I have checked if there is any bug related to this, but there isn't! This has happened before and I couldn't fix it. can anybody help? Thanks in advance;)
    EDIT: here is the preview BTW: I don't have a clue how to stop thet funny thing with the shadow on the right side. any help with that will also be appreciated
     
  2. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #2
    Portfolio isn't everything when you are trying to get a job with any company, different bosses look for different things. Most people look for a person with ideas inline with the organisations focus and with the right aptitude for the position.

    If you are applying for a position at a company like this one try to match your CV with what you might think they want, a huge flashy portfolio doesn't always get you the job.

    I was a RAAF Officer up until last June 2007, I do have 3 Certifcates in Digital Media, a Cert IV in Business Management, a Diploma of Digital Production and a B Comm (Digital Animation) so I am very well qualified however my portfolio was very weak considering the type of employment I was involved with in the Air Force.

    To get jobs (and very good ones) I used my qualifications and skills that I learn from the RAAF to get into organisations. My design portfolio for my current job (Broadcast Graphics Manager) didn't even play into me getting the job.

    Use what you have and an organisation that needs/wants your skills will offer you something. (Sorry for the wordy response). :apple:
     
  3. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #3
    ok, thanks for the advice. Just one other question: they say this on their site
    What sort of things should I tell them? The fact that I had a brain tumor, how I am only 13, or what. I am a bit unsure.
     
  4. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #4
    Give them an idea of what you like to do (your interests), where you want to be (career wise), examples of projects you've enjoyed creating, if something is in development show them the unfinished work but add design notes/etc companies love to see a person who can manage and toubleshoot a projects and one final point keep it short and to the point.

    Most CVs end up in the bin because they are too long (I know this because I file any CV that is more than 3 pages in the big round filing cabnet.... the bin), ideally you want it to be 2 pages, one very nicely written cover letter and a precise CV in point form. It will give them what they need to know, also a few days after sending it give them a call that makes a very good impression.
     
  5. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #5
    ok! thanks ezekielrage! I will take those tips into consideration
     
  6. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #6
    No problems I know how hard it can be to get a start in the creative industry.
     
  7. zoooooooooom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #7
    IE doesn't support png transparency

    This code will allow you to use png's in IE as inline images

    As far as I know there is a hack for using them for backgrounds, but I don't know it.

    Maybe try transparent gifs

    <!--[if lt IE 7]>
    <script language="JavaScript">
    function correctPNG() // correctly handle PNG transparency in Win IE 5.5 & 6.
    {
    var arVersion = navigator.appVersion.split("MSIE")
    var version = parseFloat(arVersion[1])
    if ((version >= 5.5) && (document.body.filters))
    {
    for(var i=0; i<document.images.length; i++)
    {
    var img = document.images
    var imgName = img.src.toUpperCase()
    if (imgName.substring(imgName.length-3, imgName.length) == "PNG")
    {
    var imgID = (img.id) ? "id='" + img.id + "' " : ""
    var imgClass = (img.className) ? "class='" + img.className + "' " : ""
    var imgTitle = (img.title) ? "title='" + img.title + "' " : "title='" + img.alt + "' "
    var imgStyle = "display:inline-block;" + img.style.cssText
    if (img.align == "left") imgStyle = "float:left;" + imgStyle
    if (img.align == "right") imgStyle = "float:right;" + imgStyle
    if (img.parentElement.href) imgStyle = "cursor:hand;" + imgStyle
    var strNewHTML = "<span " + imgID + imgClass + imgTitle
    + " style=\"" + "width:" + img.width + "px; height:" + img.height + "px;" + imgStyle + ";"
    + "filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader"
    + "(src=\'" + img.src + "\', sizingMethod='scale');\"></span>"
    img.outerHTML = strNewHTML
    i = i-1
    }
    }
    }
    }
    window.attachEvent("onload", correctPNG);
    </script>
    <![endif]-->
     
  8. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #8


    thats not the problem. I already know how to fix that, it's just that IE doesn't show anything in the body tag apart from the body's background
     

Share This Page