"IE site only" to pay a bill

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by toof337, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. toof337 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #1
    I want to pull the trigger on a new MacBook but I cannot log on to ucfs.net
    It is a IE only site. I've tried to spoof the site, I've tried Wine, and even tried installing the old IE. It always gives me the message "invalid request type of <null>!" I really dont want to install the whole windows OS through bootcamp just to pay one bill. Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
  3. toof337 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
  4. Wuiffi macrumors 6502a

    Wuiffi

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    #4
    Stop using the side. Srsly - it's 2013 and they can't support any other browser than IE?!
    I guess it only runs with Win XP and some browserversion that's even older than my granny
     
  5. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #5
    Do you know if it works on WP8 devices? Or just normal IE?

    ----------

    I hope this is sarcasm.
     
  6. toof337 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
  7. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #7
    If you have about 100$ to try it, you could get a cheap Lumia 520 and test it on there. If it works on the mobile browser, and it probably should, then you just fixed the problem without having to load Windows on your Mac.
     
  8. jdelgado macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #8
    This has happened to me in some sites. It usually happens if the site uses ActiveX or some other specific Win/IE tool. The only ways I have found around this are use a PC with IE or a VM with Windows installed and run IE. I use a VM.
    I understand that one could run IE with ActiveX with Crossover, but the last time I tried (long time ago), it did not work
     
  9. toof337 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #9
    Just tried it on a WP8 phone and it worked.
    I just wish the Macs could do it.
    Really dont want to resort to two devices just to pay a bill.
    Sucks... oh well....
     
  10. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Bootcamp or virtulizing Windows might be an easier option than buying a new phone.
     
  11. toof337 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #11
    Yea.....But really didnt want to intall a whole OS just to pay one bill every month. Don't know if I should be frusterated at Apple or the site.
     
  12. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #12
    How could it be Apple's fault?
     
  13. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #13
    You have a website that supports nothing but Microsoft technologies when that is probably for a totally unnecessary reason. There is no sane reason to blame Apple. They don’t operate the site and they have nothing to do with IE. If the website chooses to use proprietary tech, there is nothing Apple can do.
     
  14. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #14
    Contact the company and tell them that their site does not work. If they want payment, they'll have to offer you another method.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Have you tried simply changing your UserAgent so that your browser masquerades as IE?
     
  16. toof337 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #16
    Yes... tried it on Safari, Chrome, Mercury, Puff,and a few more.
    To no avail

    ----------

    Yes... tried spoofing it on Safari, Chrome, Mercury, Puff,and a few more.
    To no avail
     
  17. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #17
    wonder if the site uses ActiveX? that can't be spoofed.
     
  18. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #18
    The OP said the site worked on WP8 (I presume WP8 is Windows Phone 8). I don't think Windows Phone 8 supports ActiveX:
    http://thenextweb.com/microsoft/201...net-explorer-10-on-windows-8-windows-phone-8/
    The most important exclusions for IE10 on the Windows Phone 8 platform when compared to Windows 8 are a lack of “Inline video” support, no ActiveX or VBScript support, no multi-track HTML5 audio, and no use of file access APIs, or “drag-and-drop” APIs. ...
    [Emphasis added]
     
  19. Giuly, Oct 26, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #19
    Technically, your Mac can run Internet Explorer.

    But you may want to let Scott Fetzer know of this:
    [​IMG]
     
  20. Tharian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #20
    Try this:

    1. Open Safari and go into preferences.
    2. Under the Advanced tab check the box next to show develop in menu bar.
    3. Go to Develop --- user agent --- IE.

    Hope this works. It usually does.

    -d
     
  21. stract macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    #21
    I just want to point out that Apple has Safari-only sites, so at least two are playing that game. (onetoone.apple.com is an offender here). I tried to go there from Firefox (browser of choice) and IE and both times got a nastygram that the website required Safari.

    NOT cool, Apple.
     
  22. djtech42 macrumors 65816

    djtech42

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    #22
    Wouldn't this be illegal? It's similar to a monopoly.
     
  23. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #23
    The OP has already commented that this does not work.


    No it is not illegal - your bill paying site probably doesn’t have any sort of a monopoly in your area (even if that mattered - and it likely doesn’t) and it also doesn’t own or control IE. MS certainly never forced them to use IE only technologies. This is your bill company being lazy idiots by not supporting other platforms like they should. However being restrictive about technology requirements is certainly not illegal.
     
  24. Fishrrman, Oct 28, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2013

    Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #24
    My suggestion will seem old-fashioned, but if it's only one site, you'd probably do better just to write them a check each month and be done with it!
     
  25. IlikeMacsSoMuch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    Blainville, Province of Quebec
    #25
    Opera?

    Once I had trouble logging into my son's school website, like you I did not have IE, so after a little search I tried Opera and it works. It is free so you have nothing to loose.
     

Share This Page