IE7 and apple.com

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by paulold, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. paulold macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    Not sure which forum to post this, but I've seen a strange bug with the apple.com website. If I use IE7 on my Windows XP PC and go to apple.com and then search for something using the search box at the upper right of the main page, somehow my computer tries to run the iTunes installer. I get one of the IE security windows that asks you if you really want to run the software intaller. I can choose Run or Don't Run. I have to choose Don't Run about 15 times before the little popup windows go away and I get my results of my search. It's not my imagination or a coincidence - I can recreate this behavior every time I use the search. I've sent feedback to Apple about it, just in case that will help. Any ideas as to what's causing this? Anyone else seeing this happen? Might this have anything to do with the inclusion of Safari with iTunes? I already have Safari and iTunes on my PC. Very strange and a bit annoying.
     
  2. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #2
    Unable to replicate this using IE + Vista.

    To be honest I think this is something that would have been picked up in testing if it happened for everyone. It's a major issue.

    I think it may be a problem specific to your PC, but it might be worth getting in touch just in case.
     
  3. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    I just tried resetting my IE7 back to original settings and went to apple.com first and the same thing is happening. I don't have problems with other websites. Odd.
     
  4. alexjdb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    #4
    Kinda odd issue... Not able to replicate too IE7 + XP SP3.
     
  5. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #5
    When you search for something, i.e. type in a few letters, the web site produces a context sensitive result page (possibly via Flex) as a dropdown area below the search prompt. As you change text in the prompt the dropdown changes dynamically as well but doesn't trigger any dialog or load anything until you click on a link there. This is the normal behavior in my MSIE 7/XP as others noted (same here).

    Maybe a browser utility you have running, i.e. Google Toolbar with the form "auto-fill" feature enabled and might be triggering one of the links in that dropdown which requires iTunes to load to get to a podcast link, their store, etc.

    Start disabling toolbars and run native MSIE with defaults, see if it happens again.

    Beyond that maybe list all the "script" related settings in Tools -> Internet Options -> Security -> Internet Zone (just those related to scripts) to see if we missed something obvious?

    -jim
     
  6. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    When I get home, I will try what you suggest. I can tell you that I don't have any third-party toolbars installed. Also, I do see the dropdown search results as I am typing - that part appears to be working fine. It's when I hit return. The dropdown results go away, the main webpage changes to show me results but first shows a circular, rotating image as its retrieving them. And then the "run installer?" window pops up. Before I get to see the results in the main window, I have to click away the popup about 15 times. The first couple of times this happened, the popup went away after the first or second click - now it's stubborn.

    I have Windows XP Professional SP2 and IE7 at work and I just checked - the search field works fine here. At home, my XP is Windows XP Media Center Edition SP2.
     
  7. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #7
    Okay, I see. In your original post you didn't mention you actually pressed the return key, you simply said, "somehow my computer tries to run the iTunes installer".

    Pressing the enter key triggers loading iTunes links that may be pre-focused (shaded darker) in the dropdown due to relevancy of your search terms. This seems normal.

    Why didn't you run the installer, it's not malware or a trojan, it's just iTunes. The multiple instances of popping up (as you refuse to run the installer) might be normal (but unsightly) behavior since the result page might have multiple iTune links embedded.

    If using the keyboard to navigate, use cursor up/down to change focus away from a default link requiring iTunes, then press Enter to load the selected item (shaded).

    I'm not saying MSIE 7 doesn't handle not running the installer gracefully and if I am mis-understanding you or missed something, please correct me.

    -jim
     
  8. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    Again, I'll take a look at this when I get home. Got home late last night, so didn't have a chance to yesterday. But why would I want to run the iTunes installer when I already have iTunes installed (and up-to-date) on my pc?
     
  9. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #9
    I'm thinking it's not the installer - MSIE thinks it is, really it's the web link with an embedded object that permits your browser to load an external program. This is how clicking on a link can spawn the iTunes client and pass the necessary parameters to take you to their store, the proper song for download, a specific podcast subscription or cancel, etc.

    If it is indeed trying to install iTunes - then you're right and I have no explanation for you other than use a different browser such as Firefox and adBlock the damn page. heh.

    (Anyone else care to chime in?) I concede I'm guessing here, thoughts welcomed on this. BTW, no rush, take your time!

    -jim
     
  10. paulold thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    How's this for a problem solver? When I got home last Thursday, I discovered a power outage fried my pc. I've been meaning to switch over to using my MacBook Pro and I spent the weekend doing just that. So I guess I won't need to figure out why IE7 was malfunctioning. : )

    As I sidenote, I just wanted to add that it's times like this that you really appreciate Apple. All I had to do was place my old harddrive into an enclosure and Leopard had no trouble reading the drive so I could pull off the files I needed to save. I have over 6000 songs in my iTunes library and I was able to not only transfer all the songs over to my new external harddrive but I was also able to save my iTunes library and all the metadata without much effort. When I was done, I plugged my iPod into my laptop to sync it fearing something would go wrong and it would have to reload all the songs but it was as if nothing had happened. Amazing. I love Apple and I'm so happy to finally be PC free!
     

Share This Page