If I get a MB could I

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ChrisN, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #1
  2. EchoElite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #2
    Well, it looks like you can use the memory.
    As for the segate hard drive, i've had bad experiences with that concerning data loss in backups with carbon copy cloner...
     
  3. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
  4. ChrisN thread starter macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #4
    Thanks,
    I'm just wondering what would happen if something fails, could apple help at all?

    Thanks,
    ChrisN
     
  5. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #5
    No, that upgrade *voids* your warranty. For Apple to fix it, the upgrades have to be performed by an Apple Certified Technician.
     
  6. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #6
    That should only apply to the RAM upgrade in the new aluminum MacBooks. The hard drive should still be user replaceable (correct me if I'm wrong, please).
     
  7. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #7
    True.
     
  8. MontrealMonger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #8
    Does that give me the option of bringing in my own hd and having Apple install it?
     
  9. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #9
    Yes, you can do that.
     
  10. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #10
    I would hold off on getting any upgrades until you have the machine for a bit. What do you do with them should you be unhappy and return it?

    And as far as having Apple do them, I wouldn't pay. Just do them yourself, it's really easy. Hold on to your old stuff and if anything goes wrong, pop in original pieces and no questions asked as long as you don't strip out screws or do anything really stupid that shows.
     
  11. TxMacAddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #11
    The alu macbook instruction manual provides instructions on how to change your hard drive and your ram. They wouldn't give instruction on how to void your warranty.
     
  12. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #12
    If you remove the ram, you void your warranty.

    Anything user-replaceable is fine (hard drive=easy access), but the memory requires the Torx screws to take off the cover and remove the Apple installed memory. Each Apple Genius I've talked to says removing it voids the warranty (even though I've done it for every machine I've ever owned).
     
  13. Ron21 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #13
    Replacing the hard drive requires a torx screw driver as well...

    Replacing the ram does not void the warranty, heck apple even gives you instructions on their website.

    However if you break something while replacing the ram them your warranty is voided.
     
  14. MontrealMonger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #14
    Amazing! Do they do it as a courtesy or is there a charge (and if there is, how much is it)?
     
  15. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #15
    The MB manual even tells you how to perform the ram upgrades, so no it should not void the warranty.
     
  16. ChrisN thread starter macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #16
    @Veritas&Equitas

    what kind of hdd do you have in your macbook, i havent seen a 500 gb 2.5" one

    ChrisN
     
  17. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #17
    The new one from Western Digital; it's actually pretty cheap at $150.

    Here is the link from Newegg
     
  18. ChrisN thread starter macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #18
    well I guess I don't need 500gb so what's a good cheap 320gb?

    Thanks,
    ChrisN
     

Share This Page