If I Had A Lot of Money, I'd Shoot This Computer Right Now And Buy Another One

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ray0181, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Ray0181 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #1
    Okay, this is my first post in a forum like this and I don't know the etiquette, so here goes. I just bought my first Mac, a MacBookPro (the upgraded ones that just came out a couple of weeks ago). 2.16Ghz, 2GB RAM. I have discovered that TomatoTorrent causes the fewest number of problems for Tiger; however, I am having a serious problem with my wireless internet connection, one that I have never encountered before (including on my wife's Mac). The problem is: when I am using Tomato, every few minutes the wireless connection is dropped for about thirty seconds, my router (a 2Wire through Qwest) resets itself, then things are back to normal. What sucks is that during this time, I lose most or all of my peers and seeds (and ALL of my download speed).

    I've read a few posts dealing with this question, but none of the solutions proferred there seem to be effective for solving my particular little problem. Any suggestions? Let me if know if more info re: hardware/software wd. be helpful for answering my question. Thank you.
     
  2. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  3. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #3
    If the router is resetting itself then it's probably the cause. My new router has the same problems, but the more I use it the less frequent it becomes for no good reason :eek:
     
  4. Ray0181 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #4
    I am not exactly sure that my router is resetting. What it does is: the wireless light turns off, then turns red, then turns green, then it works again.
     
  5. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #5
    Yep. That's a reset. I had one of those 2 Wire routers from Qwest when I lived in Seattle. Mine would reset on average of five times per day under heavy usage. I poked around some broadband forums and found it was a fairly common occurance. I finally gave up and switched to Comcast.
     
  6. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #6
    Do it, do it do it...:D ;)

     
  7. chem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #7
    Save a bullet for whoever sold you the MBP, because it's not one of the upgraded ones that came out a couple weeks ago if the CPU is running at 2.16 GHz. The Santa Rosa MBPs come with 2.2 or 2.4 GHz CPUs.

    ...just kidding about the bullet thing. Violence is bad.
     
  8. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #8
    Sounds like a router problem, not a computer problem. But more importantly, and I'm surprised no one's picked up on this yet...

    Question: How do you have a new Santa Rosa MacBook Pro with a 2.16GHz processor?? :confused: :confused:
     
  9. Ray0181 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #9
    Sorry, I checked my paperwork, it was upgraded FROM 2.16 to 2.2. I'm not very savvy with this stuff. And what's with 'Santa Rosa'. Another 'unsavvy' question.
     
  10. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #10
    Santa Rosa is a brother of Santa Claus. It means "good stuff" in geekspeek.
     
  11. ryan42 macrumors 6502

    ryan42

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Near Houston, TX
    #11
    It's a chipset that the mac is based on.
     
  12. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #12
    This problem is not the computers! Torrents are known for causing issues with routers
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Wouldn't it have been easier to buy a new router?
     
  14. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #14
    Hey, we are used to using a ICBM to kill a fly here! Do not stop the roll while we are at it! :rolleyes:
     
  15. iTone macrumors member

    iTone

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    CA.
    #15
    How so? Do tell!

    How on earth would a torrent whack out a machine? lol
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    Most protocols such as HTTP open a connection to a single IP address. Torrents use multiple connections to tens or sometimes hundreds of different IP addresses, and some routers will simply choke on all that work.
     
  17. applecow macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #17
    Wait what? What paperwork said that it upgraded from 2.16 to 2.2? Was it some document from the people you bought it from or official Apple brochure. I would check the actual computer to make sure someone didn't rip you off.

    Santa Rosa is just a nickname for the new processors. Nothing you'd really have to know about except that it is slightly faster than older processors.
     
  18. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    I think he means that he ordered a 2.16 but got a free upgrade to 2.2 since they were released prior to them sending out the computer.

    And, technically, Santa Rosa is the chipset. The processor is still a Core 2 Duo.
     
  19. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #19
    The router was supplied by Qwest. I tried to get them to replace it but that was like pulling teeth. Poor customer service == lost customer.
     
  20. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #20
    So you switch to Comcast?!?

    /facepalm

    Hopefully you'll have better luck with them and their packet shaping than everyone else on the intertubes, but I wouldn't plan on torrenting much at fast speeds anytime soon.
     
  21. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #21
    They were my only other choice at the time, and actually, their service was better. Qwest only offered 1.5Mbps in my neighborhood. With Comcast, I paid for 8Mbps and usually got around 12.

    In any case, I don't live in Seattle anymore. I'm in rural Wyoming where broadband is slow and expensive (if you can get it at all).
     
  22. durad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #22
    thats for shure a router problem,solution is simple,install DD-WRT(linux software for the router) and then change the maximum ports to 4096 and timeouts to <500.done.and its easy to install:cool:
     

Share This Page