If i update to iOS 5 will i lose Original Unlock?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by inflame, Dec 12, 2011.

1. inflame, Dec 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012

inflame macrumors newbie

Hello, when i bought my iPhone i paid the full price so the carrier unlocked it. Then later i jailbroke it on 4.3.3 with Jailbreakme 3.0 and it remained unlocked.

If i update to iOS 5 i know i lose the jailbreak, but will i lose my SIM unlock that the carrier did? In case it remains unlocked can i JB it again and it remains unlocked? I'm sorry i'm pretty new to this stuff.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT For those using Google if they come here: iPhone is unlocked, and you receive an iTunes warning message saying it was unlocked.

2. DangerPanda macrumors member

3. Grolubao macrumors 65816

Grolubao

If it's Factory unlocked, doesn't matter, you're always unlocked independent of jailbreak or not

4. inflame thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks =)

Well not factory, like i said when i bought i paid the full price so the carrier unlocked it, but i had to wait for the carrier to unlock, so i had to wait, too like 5 mins anyway, still it wasn't unlocked by default but was unlocked by the carrier/apple legally.

5. maturola macrumors 68040

maturola

That is exactly what "factory Unlock" mean, I know it is confusing since it is not really the "factory" which unlock it and it is the carrier, but your phone is Factory unlocked, no worries while jailbreaking, you will always remain unlocked

6. inflame thread starter macrumors newbie

Awesome, thanks for the clarification and time. =)

But i'm not sure if i'll update now or when the untethered JB is out. Either way i'll post here the results and hopefully this helps people using Google later.

7. Grolubao macrumors 65816

Grolubao