If I upgrade to iOS 4.3 will I lose my unlocking???

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by garysims, Mar 21, 2011.

1. garysims macrumors newbie

Hi,

Sorry if this is a simple or a no brainer question but I am VERY new to the world of iPhone hacking, jail breaking and unlocking!

I have just managed to jailbreak and unlock my iPhone 3GS. It is running iOS 4.1 with baseband 06.15.00... The SIM card from my new carrier now works great.

iTunes of course is now offering to upgrade my iPhone to iOS 4.3? The question is should I?

• Will it overwrite my unlocking?
    • Will it "brick" my phone?

I don't mind if it un-jailbreaks the phone, I only jail broke it so I could unlock it, so for me that isn't important.

Any help would be grateful!

Thanks,

Gary

2. Phil A. Moderator

Phil A.

Staff Member

AFAIK, because you have put the 6.15 baseband onto your iPhone, you will be unable to apply any official updates and will have to seek out a 4.3 custom build.

3. WhatAmI macrumors 6502a

WhatAmI

Phil is correct. Any standard update vi iTunes will fail and you need a 4.3 Custom 4.3 IPSW for this to work

4. garysims thread starter macrumors newbie

@Phil A, @WhatAmI,

Thanks both of you for your quick replies... For my own information I put baseband 00.06.15 as I thought I couldn't unlock with the original one I had (05.14.02). Was I wrong / mistaken about that?

Is there a known good source for custom IPSW files and/or what is the best way to create them? With Pwnage?

Thanks again for your quick replies...

Gary

5. WhatAmI macrumors 6502a

WhatAmI

Your previous baseband can not be unlocked currently so you didn't c o c k up ;) Rather than downloading something you're not 100% certain of I would def. recommend PwnageTool to create your own IPSW

6. jdaniel macrumors 65816